how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

hmm

@videotron.ca

Videotron customer hacked Thousands in bills

»www.montrealgazette.com/life/Hac···ory.html

Videotron customer Amber Hunter has been billed more than $2,200 for four months of service, because her password-protected wireless network was hacked.

"I'm a student, and I work at a bar, and now most of the money I have goes to pay my Internet bill," the 21-year-old Notre Dame de Grace resident said yesterday. "It's more than I pay for school and books, and I don't have a lot of money left for food."

Since August, Hunter has amassed more than $1,800 in charges from Videotron Ltd. because an unauthorized user hacked into her password-protected wireless network. Despite her insistence she couldn't have used what amounted to hundreds of gigabytes of data, on calls to Videotron's customer service, each representative insisted she was responsible for usage stemming from her account. She has paid more than $1,300 since the summer and still owes the company $506. ...continues...

Videotrons "sky is the limit" billing practice bit this girl on the ass.

ggtyh6

join:2005-02-09
h0h0h0

Wherever Videotron's business practices bites this customer, Videotron's TOS is clear: the customer is responsible for securing his wireless network and for any fees relative to a non-secure wireless signal.

Crap, I couldn't find the link to Videotron's TOS...

En Enfer
This account has been compromised

join:2003-07-25
Montreal, QC
kudos:4
reply to hmm

quote:
For a year, Hunter and her roommate were told their usage had exceeded the limit of 30 gigabytes every month and were billed a $50 fee for exceeding the limit.