All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
willzzz
join:2007-05-23
NY

willzzz

[DVR] Can I get the video files off the DVR!?

Can I get the video files off the DVR!?

Note: I'm a developer.
Has anyone here connected the HD DVR's HD (hard drive) to a Linux Ubuntu computer and installed IBM's GPFS file-system kernel module driver on Ubuntu to view the file-system on the DVR's hard-drive? I searched online and someone did it. They said in the Moto config there are 2 partitions:
0: Unencrypted: Show information, stats info and other Moto stuff.
1: Actual files for the video files. Encrypted. The GPFS FS ID# is UNIQUE to each STB DVR and can't be transferred. To disable the encryption the algorithm would need to be calculated based on the M-Card MAC# that TWC uses for video decoding.

Has anyone managed to remove the encryption!?

ALL I want is a TIVO like solution to watch my video files on the go on my laptop in either Windows or Linux.

I bet this is NOT a Comcast limitation but a CONTENT PROVIDER LIMITATION. If Comcast allowed consumers to install a file-system driver on Windows to view the file-system (Mount as drive X: for example in Win7) to view the files off the STB I would switch to you guys from FiOS.

Add in a Motorola client Windows decode driver to play the video files in Windows I would be happy and recommend COMCAST++.

No more damn internet privacy. I pay for content rights to COMCAST. I get video files from COMCAST off the DVR.

Stupid content providers. I WANT FREEDOM! XD

BTW Comcast pretty please, negotiate better rights with your content providers. I WOULD EVEN PAY YOU BIG $$$ for this service. I want to watch my DVR content ON THE GO when I'm AWAY from my house and when I'm in-between coding breaks. Thank You...

Mr. Geek
03667810 (banned)
join:2008-12-18
Grand Rapids, MI

03667810 (banned)

I have never tried it, but it sounds like it could work.

andyross
MVM
join:2003-05-04
Aurora, IL

andyross to willzzz

MVM

to willzzz