how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

OldschoolDSL
Premium
join:2006-02-23
Indian Orchard, MA

Please help a complete noob (thanks in advance)

This should be within the web hosting forum, but I believe I will get better help here (and quicker replies).

I'm trying to setup a VPS Server remotely. Using Linux remotely is not as easy as configuring it locally. I've tried Debian and CentOS, but continue to get stuck. I assume mostly because I do not know how to edit files remotely through a DOS prompt (on Linux). The general idea is to get Apache or Nginx, with full HTTP, FTP, MySQL, and PHP Support and then install a control panel. Nothing fancy.

I think its kind of funny that you can find "step by step" instructions for Windows, but if you're using a Unix system... It sucks to be a noob.

As far as I am aware... I have CentOS all updated (yum update) and I can see the Apache Test Page. I have installed the basic Apache, MySQL, & PHP setup. All I need to do is configure FTP Server.

Anyone willing to help (please)?
--
HP Pavilion a6750f (tweaked)
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 * Mac OS Snow Leopard
»www.sociallyuncensored.com

Bink
Villains... knock off all that evil

join:2006-05-14
Castle Rock, CO
kudos:4
Reviews:
·VOIPO
There is no DOS prompt on your UNIX-like OS—it’s known as a CLI/shell and it’s one of this OS’s strong suites/why it is so easy to configure a UNIX-like OS remotely. I HIGHLY recommend you learn vi—it’s usually installed by default on UNIX/UNIX-like OSs—and learn where the important configuration files are. If you must use a control panel-type program—I HIGHLY recommend not using one, particularly due to their extremely poor security track records and the fact that you learn nothing from using them—install it and configure it first as you can then use its PHD (Push Here Dummy) interface to configure the rest of your box.

OldschoolDSL
Premium
Indian Orchard, MA
said by Bink: