Search similar:

uniqs

BoastonMA
@mathworks.com

BoastonMA

Anon

Do I need DOCSIS 3.0 modem? Considering SB6120

Hi,

I am leasing modem from Comcast, but recent rate hike from $5 to $7 is prompting me to dump Comcast and buy my own. The modem I currently leasing is DOCSIS 3.0 and give me good speed. I am on Performance tier but some time see speed, especially after having this modem, going up to 60Mbps/5Mbps. Is this because of modem or something else. Should I go for Motorola SB6120 or Motorola is not good and should keep paying Comcast $7 a month...Please advice..Thanks
Papageno
join:2011-01-26
Portland, OR

Papageno

I'm a noob, so take my advice for what it's worth, but I understand that at the Performance/Performance Plus tier you only need DOCSIS 2, and that getting a DOCSIS 3 modem is only for future-proofing purposes, in case you upgrade later to Extreme 50 or something.

EG
The wings of love
Premium Member
join:2006-11-18
Union, NJ

1 recommendation

EG

Premium Member

said by Papageno:

and that getting a DOCSIS 3 modem is only for future-proofing purposes, in case you upgrade later to Extreme 50 or something.

There are capacity/congestion and failover benefits to be had by using a D3 capable modem on an upgraded to D3 system.

Chris 313
Because It's Geekier
Premium Member
join:2004-07-18
Houma, LA
·AT&T FTTP
·Comcast XFINITY

1 edit

Chris 313 to BoastonMA

Premium Member

to BoastonMA
Get the 6120, be future proofed and definitely ready for the next upgrade that's coming. If you haven't already, the upcoming Performance speed will be 15/2.

See here: »Comcast Shaking Up Speed Tiers (Again) [108] comments

Amazon has the 6120 available, and been on sale recently. You might get lucky too: »www.amazon.com/Motorola- ··· 5&sr=8-1

DarkLogix
Texan and Proud
Premium Member
join:2008-10-23
Baytown, TX

DarkLogix to Papageno

Premium Member

to Papageno
D3>D2 = win/win
Papageno
Portland, OR

Papageno to BoastonMA

to BoastonMA