 Reviews:
·Time Warner Cable
·Cox HSI
·AT&T U-Verse
| Hostgator and spamcop Hello,
I was wondering if anyone could understand this log and tell me if it's Hostgator blocking this email using spamcop. Or is it ATT blocking this email using spamcop?
A friend has been having issues sending me emails via ATT webmail over the past 24 hours as the same bounce back message keeps reappearing. Hostgator says it's AT&T and spamcop not hostgator and Spamcop.
Any insight would be great.
(Removed my domain name) 50.22.98.92 does not like recipient. Remote host said: 550-"JunkMail rejected - web113016.mail.gq1.yahoo.com [98.136.165.89]:42849 is 550-in an RBL on rbl.davetha.com, see Blocked - see 550 »www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=check···.165.89" Giving up on 50.22.98.92. |
|
 twizlarI dont think so.Premium join:2003-12-24 Brantford, ON kudos:3 | The issue is with yahoo and spamcop. Realistically hostgator could whitelist the IP without any issue though. -- Broadline Networks Inc. |
|
 Reviews:
·Time Warner Cable
·Cox HSI
·AT&T U-Verse
| Thanks for the reply. I thought maybe it was hostgator because of the 50.22.98.92 saying it does not like recipient and the 50.22.98.92 being my host account IP.
Is there a way I can work around this in my cpanel? Hostgator said it would be up to 24 hours before the issue may be resolved. Just never seen this before when I was with bluehost for 3 years. Dunno, maybe something new yahoo is doing? |
|
 twizlarI dont think so.Premium join:2003-12-24 Brantford, ON kudos:3 | reply to milkman82 The blocked ip and reason are right in the reply back.
"web113016.mail.gq1.yahoo.com [98.136.165.89]:42849 is 550-in an RBL on rbl.davetha.com, see Blocked"
The only way to fix it is to wait for the RBL entry to expire or have hostgator whitelist the IP (which they can do easily) -- Broadline Networks Inc. |
|
 Reviews:
·Time Warner Cable
·Cox HSI
·AT&T U-Verse
| Well thats great! LOL! hostgator support team is saying Yahoo is causing the block and that the user needs to contact Yahoo (no whitelisting) My friend was on support with yahoo and yahoo says she needs to have the block removed from hostgator. Hostgator says they have nothing to do with it. I am thinking of just switching hosting companies. Never had this problem before and she is not having the same issue with any of there other email recipients.
"50.22.98.92 does not like recipient" |
|
 removedPremium,VIP join:2002-02-08 Houston, TX kudos:37 | reply to milkman82 said by milkman82: (Removed my domain name) 50.22.98.92 does not like recipient. Remote host said: 550-"JunkMail rejected - web113016.mail.gq1.yahoo.com [98.136.165.89]:42849 is 550-in an RBL on rbl.davetha.com, see Blocked - see 550 »www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=check···.165.89" Giving up on 50.22.98.92. rbl.davetha.com is an internal HostGator blacklist. HostGator support should be able to resolve this for you. -- irc.removed.us - #dslr |
|
|
|
 Reviews:
·Time Warner Cable
·Cox HSI
·AT&T U-Verse
| yeah they came back and said it was Yahoo. I have even setup a test web based email account and tried sending my self a email to my host gator account and it bounced back instantly. So I am on the prowl for a new hosting provider, looking as we speak. |
|
 Reviews:
·Time Warner Cable
·Cox HSI
·AT&T U-Verse
| Can someone help me understand this?
Yahoo mail is being blacklisted by spamcop.
Host Gator uses spamcop to filter emails.
I can't receive emails because yahoo mail IP is blacklisted with spamcop, host gator server sees this and therefore deny the email from coming to my in box.
Host Gator is just repeated saying yahoo has to fix this issue. While I understand the yahoo/spamcop needing to fix that problem fixed. At the same time I see this as being Host Gators problem for using a spam filter the end user has no control over. Am I understanding this correctly? |
|
 | Yahoo has been blacklisted by spamcop because spammers are signing up for yahoo addresses to send their spam. The yahoo servers get blacklisted by the RBL (real-time blacklist) as a result.
Yahoo's mail server IP addresses are blacklisted, not the email addresses themselves. As twizlar said, the entry will expire, but yahoo will have to instigate removal from the list. We also use spamcop as a filter for our server, and to the best of my knowledge there is nothing the users of the RBL can do to whitelist an email address. It's the owners of the servers that have to request removal.
So changing hosting services will not do a thing if you continue to use a yahoo address for your email. Until yahoo gets this under control, it will recur. This same thing happened to gmail a while back. |
|
 Reviews:
·Time Warner Cable
·Cox HSI
·AT&T U-Verse
| Well I did end up getting it resolved by switching to another host (Certified Hosting). Never seen this issue with Blue Host and thankfully my new host.
I have issues when a company that tries to control spam and not leave it up to the user.
In fact that reminds me, I need to cancel host gator today. Thanks! |
|
 | reply to milkman82 well hostgator shouldnt behave like that. Customer Technical Support is one of the qualities that cannot be ignored. Anyways, best of luck with your new host  |
|