Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

NgtFlyer

join:2000-07-09
Marietta, GA
reply to mkaishar

Re: Poor experiences with the new Megapath company

I've had 6/768 service with Speakeasy for nearly 9 years. About two weeks ago, I was switched over from Speakeasy's net over to Covad. Now, high latency, packet loss and obvious routing issues are the norm. Haven't been able to get anywhere with support and $146 (I pay $6 for higher news cap) per month for a 6/768 DSL line is terrible value for money. Sadly it's down to AT&T Uverse or Comcast where I live, so I have signed up for 50/10 Comcast business Internet service. I'll be paying a bit more, but I will have far more bandwidth and no data cap. I work in IT. I have servers. I work from home frequently and this involves transferring a lot of data. Plus, I am a power user. I watch video podcasts and download several others.

I've also noticed that while watching video streams, particularly Youtube, Twit.tv and Revision3, it appears that they are being throttled. (ALL traffic stops for 5 seconds in regular intervals while watching the stream.) If I close the stream, I don't get interruptions in traffic. My download speeds are normal if I download a decent sized file from a good source such as download.com.

So, after a very good 8 year run and a not so great past few months, I am finished. It's kinda sad losing these four static IP addresses I've had for all this time but, as I said in my last update to my Speakeasy review, all good things come to an end.

Never thought I'd see the day when I'd say I look forward to dealing with Comcast, but so far with the business pre-install process, it has been pleasant. I'll write a review for it sometime next week.

lorennerol
Premium
join:2003-10-29
Seattle, WA
said by NgtFlyer: