spc
Search similar:

uniqs

George S
@comcastbusiness.net

George S

Anon

[Business] SMC8014 Setting up IPs in pFSense

I just had Comcast Business Class w/ 5 IP block installed.

I'm trying to configure the IPs to route through pfSense

1. I've assigned pfSense to a static IP out of the 5 block I was assigned.
2. I've set up virtual IPs for the other 4
3. I've set up port forwarding for one of the IPs to my terminal server.

I try to connect via rdp to the terminal server using the public IP and no joy.

My questions are this....

Is there a tutorial or something for setting up Comcast with pfsense for natting to internal servers.

I'm relatively new to pfSense so I just need a good starting point and my google foo isn't turning up anything.

JohnInSJ
Premium Member
join:2003-09-22
Aptos, CA

JohnInSJ

Premium Member

(coax cable)
8014 in "true static mode"
(ethernet cable)
pfSense box eth0
pfSense box eth1
(ethernet cable)
switch
(your local network)

the pfSense box is going to be your router, so on the WAN side (what I call eth0 above) it should have the entire block assigned. Then, on the LAN side (eth1 above, your local lan GW), you'd 1:1 NAT a static public IP to a static private IP (or port forward, or however else you want to set up your network) - so in your example, let's say your LAN is 10.0.0.x, and you statically assign .10 thru .13 to your VMs. In pFsense you'd map each private ip to a public static ip.

Otherwise, the only thing you'll be able to "see" from outside is the one static IP you assigned to pfsense.

Note, that INSIDE your lan, you can't loop back (usually) so referring to your static IPs isn't going to work from inside. Unless pFsense does the loopback correctly, which most routers don't.

I use linux for routing, should be more or less the same, but if someone with actual pfSense experience wants to chime in

pflog
Bueller? Bueller?
MVM
join:2001-09-01
El Dorado Hills, CA

pflog to George S

MVM

to George S