site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
17822
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·Hijack This logs? ·Panda Free Tools ·Vundo Removal
page: 1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6
AuthorAll Replies


Name Game
Premium
join:2002-07-07
North Myrtle Beach, SC
kudos:7

4 edits

PayPal Email...your enhanced account statement is here

"disclaimer" ... there IS a legitimate email being sent of the same title.

But I have never received or made a payment from/to anyone via Paypal...

I don't even have a paypal account..but got this tonight..

Therefore I strongly suggest that if you do use paypal..and get this email.. read it...but don't click on any links within the body of the email..Rather go to paypal the way you usually do to login and see if they are offering you this enhanced account feature.

How to tell if an email is from PayPal [ Edited ]
Feb-17-2011 04:41 PM - last edited on Feb-22-2011 12:33 PM
»www.paypal-community.com/t5/Frau···#U197656

_______________________________________________________
From : "PayPal"

To : xxxxxxxx@xxxx.com

Subject : (YOUR NAME), your enhanced account statement is here

Date : Sun, Apr 17, 2011 08:52 PM






Review your enhanced PayPal account statement today.
View mobile | View online

Recover your password | Get help | Your account



Hello (YOUR NAME),

Exciting news! You now have an enhanced way to view and quickly keep track of your account activity.

See your enhanced Account Statement
You can access your statement any time by clicking Statements from your Account Overview. Want to see it now? Go

Accept electronic communications from us
To continue to receive information about your account electronically—including your account statements—you must accept our Electronic Communications Delivery Policy. It only takes a few clicks:

• Log in to PayPal
• Click the Electronic Communications Delivery Policy link and read the policy
• Click the checkbox to accept the policy
• Click Agree and Continue

For additional information on reporting unauthorized transactions or other errors, follow the steps listed in section 12 of the PayPal User Agreement: Resolution Procedures for Unauthorized Transactions and Other Errors

© 2011 PayPal Inc. All rights reserved. PayPal is located at 2211 N. First St., San Jose, CA 95131.
________________________________________________________

It's a Scam
»www.paypal-community.com/t5/Repo···p/236012
--
Gladiator Security Forum
»www.gladiator-antivirus.com/


MikeTest
Non-Believer

join:2010-10-19
Moribund

Re: PayPal Phising Email...your enhanced account statement here

Yeah, I got this e-mail and I didn't click on any of it's links and I did set it aside...

However, I don't think it's a phishing attempt. Headers look legit for Paypal Advantage advertising and Google hits seem to agree.

I've forwarded the e-mail to spoof@paypal.com but why should we be 100% sure the left hand knows what the right hand is doing?

I'd like a definitive answer with a well thought out explanation.


MikeTest
Non-Believer

join:2010-10-19
Moribund

reply to Name Game
Also, there ARE new Paypal Account Statements available as PDFs for the last 3 months. It's new and what the e-mail ad was about.

Better safe than sorry of course, always. It's just good practice not to go to any account via a link in an e-mail. But, again this looks legit.



Snowy
mIRC unix.ro UnderNet
Premium
join:2003-04-05
Kailua, HI
kudos:6
Reviews:
·RoadRunner Cable
·Clearwire Wireless

reply to MikeTest

said by MikeTest:

I'd like a definitive answer with a well thought out explanation.

Forward it to the DSLR phishtracker.
That should be enough to get an answer on whether or not it's a phishing attempt.
»/phishtrack


MikeTest
Non-Believer

join:2010-10-19
Moribund

said by Snowy:

said by MikeTest:

I'd like a definitive answer with a well thought out explanation.

Forward it to the DSLR phishtracker.
That should be enough to get an answer on whether or not it's a phishing attempt.
»/phishtrack

Not to be a prick, but who is going to do what to determine an e-mail's legitimacy? And, what are they going to do that I can't do myself? I mean, no explanation is given at all as to what is investigated or how.

I'm certainly not questioning the people here that do so much good work, but I make a point, no?


Snowy
mIRC unix.ro UnderNet
Premium
join:2003-04-05
Kailua, HI
kudos:6
Reviews:
·RoadRunner Cable
·Clearwire Wireless

said by MikeTest:

... who is going to do what to determine an e-mail's legitimacy?

me.
These emails will eventually cross my desk if they are phish.
The DSLR phishtracker is just a way to fast track them.


MikeTest
Non-Believer

join:2010-10-19
Moribund

Me, what? How are you going to determine the legitimacy or not of said e-mail?



Snowy
mIRC unix.ro UnderNet
Premium
join:2003-04-05
Kailua, HI
kudos:6
Reviews:
·RoadRunner Cable
·Clearwire Wireless

The headers will provide all the data that's needed to determine where the the email originated.
If an email originated from a computer in the middle of a rice field in S. Korea, I'll stake my reputation on the fact that it did not originate with PayPal.



MikeTest
Non-Believer

join:2010-10-19
Moribund

said by Snowy:

The headers will provide all the data that's needed to determine where the the email originated.
If an email originated from a computer in the middle of a rice field in S. Korea, I'll stake my reputation on the fact that it did not originate with PayPal.

Of course, I did that. The info in the headers point to Responsys. Responsys appears to be a marketing company that Paypal uses for well, marketing.


Snowy
mIRC unix.ro UnderNet
Premium
join:2003-04-05
Kailua, HI
kudos:6
Reviews:
·RoadRunner Cable
·Clearwire Wireless

said by MikeTest:

said by Snowy:

The headers will provide all the data that's needed to determine where the the email originated.
If an email originated from a computer in the middle of a rice field in S. Korea, I'll stake my reputation on the fact that it did not originate with PayPal.

Of course, I did that. The info in the headers point to Responsys. Responsys appears to be a marketing company that Paypal uses for well, marketing.

Well that's the difference.
Submitted to the phishtracker, I wouldn't use words like 'appears". It would be either definitively defined as a phishing attempt or not.
You do bring up a good point about the possibility of PayPal using a 3rd party mailing service.
With that in mind, the complete email submitted to the phishtracker will get the answers you're looking for.


Snowy
mIRC unix.ro UnderNet
Premium
join:2003-04-05
Kailua, HI
kudos:6
Reviews:
·RoadRunner Cable
·Clearwire Wireless

reply to Name Game

said by Name Game:

I don't even have a paypal account..but got this tonight..

Not having a PayPal account is always one of the clues that an email purportedly from PayPal may not be what it says it is, but you can always submit them to the phishtracker too.
»/phishtrack


rcdailey
Dragoonfly
Premium
join:2005-03-29
Rialto, CA

FWIW, if I do a search on "Responsys," I find that WOT puts a big red circle on virtually all links, starting with their corporate website.
--
Don't let the pluperfect be the enemy of the perfect.



Drunkula
Premium
join:2000-06-12
Denton, TX

reply to Name Game
I got it, too. Not sure what it was about it but I suspected it right away. Then I got side-tracked.



Krisnatharok
Caveat Emptor
Premium
join:2009-02-11
Earth Orbit
kudos:7

Is that the same as this? »Bypassed Spamfilter: Paypal phishing email?



Name Game
Premium
join:2002-07-07
North Myrtle Beach, SC
kudos:7

reply to Snowy
For all you posting in this thread..I did not ask anyone if it was phishing email..I am telling you it is...the header is from Paypal there is no @info.paypal.com and the link I posted in the first post if you read it..confirms someone already sent the email to Paypal and the confirmed it was phishing. And it bypassed spam filters...strange that since where it comes from is crooked.
Have a nice day.

»www.robtex.com/dns/info.paypal.com.html

»Bypassed Spamfilter: Paypal phishing email?
--
Gladiator Security Forum
»www.gladiator-antivirus.com/



Name Game
Premium
join:2002-07-07
North Myrtle Beach, SC
kudos:7

reply to Krisnatharok

said by Krisnatharok:

Is that the same as this? »Bypassed Spamfilter: Paypal phishing email?

Yes


Krisnatharok
Caveat Emptor
Premium
join:2009-02-11
Earth Orbit
kudos:7

I submitted it to paypal's phishing address and haven't heard anything from them since.



Name Game
Premium
join:2002-07-07
North Myrtle Beach, SC
kudos:7

Semper Fi buddie..maybe the need a few "more" good men on the job

gysgt USMC 63-72



Name Game
Premium
join:2002-07-07
North Myrtle Beach, SC
kudos:7

reply to Name Game
If anyone lives in the UK...here are some more similar Phishing Scams running there now.."enhanced" seems to be the byword on these new scams they even use the words enhanced security in some of the headers...

»www.mrsvip.net/business-scams/?t···%20scams



nwrickert
sand groper
Premium,MVM
join:2004-09-04
Geneva, IL
kudos:7
Reviews:
·AT&T U-Verse

reply to Name Game
I received that email.

No, I do not think it is phishing. It looks legitimate to me. The links all appear to be genuine paypal links.

The email appears to have been sent from 12.130.139.53. But it is not unusual for businesses to hire somebody to do their mailings.

In any case, people should follow the safe procedure - don't click on links in the mail. Instead, use your bookmarked link to get to the paypal site.
--
AT&T Uverse; Zyxel NBG334W router (behind the 2wire gateway); openSuSE 11.4; firefox 4.0

page: 1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Tuesday, 21-May 12:36:13 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 13.5 years online © 1999-2013 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics