spc
uniqs

gar187er
I DID this for a living
join:2006-06-24
Seattle, WA

gar187er to gpatrick900

to gpatrick900

Re: Does Comcast have low income discount for the disabled...

from the link posted right above my last, by you....its in the letter sent by comcast to the fcc
gpatrick900
join:2008-08-30
New Castle, IN

gpatrick900

said by gar187er:

from the link posted right above my last, by you....its in the letter sent by comcast to the fcc

»siliconangle.com/blog/20 ··· he-poor/

The deal requires Comcast to provide approximately 2.5 million low income households with high speed Internet for less than $10 a month. To this population the ISP must also sell PCs, netbooks, or similar computer equipment at prices below $150, and offer a host of digital literacy educational opportunities.

In addition, Comcast must grow its broadband networks to about 400,000 new homes, get fast Internet service to six additional rural areas, and offer free video and ISP offerings to 600 new anchor institutions in low income regions (anchor here means schools, libraries, and such).

This cant be too painful a condition for the company. A little over a year ago the National Cable and Telecommunications Association announced a similar initiative to offer half price รข€˜Net connections to poor kids. The Adoption Plus Program would provide students who qualify for the National School Lunch Program access to two years of 50 percent discounted broadband, a subsidized computer, and free computer classes and technical support.

The key words are "In addition" The last paragraph states they already do what some of are saying. No where does it say "Only for household that are low income that have students"

offer a host of digital literacy educational opportunities",

Comcast will offer this but you can say no. Does not mean you have to say yes.
gpatrick900

gpatrick900

That article may be incorrect