Modemless
@bigpipeinc.com

Modemless to pkarlos_76

Anon

to pkarlos_76

Re: New Prices, New Bundles, Unlimited Bandwidth

said by pkarlos_76:

said by Modemless :

Why is the new CISCO modem supposed to be better than the current offering (Other than brand)? Better speed?

Too many nightmares on other ISP's........that why people are afraid to use it on Shaw, of course Shaw's a little different then other ISP's and limit their network and hardware to make it work to a few modems. While I have no experience with the SMC modem, I believe Shaw does a better job integrating modems and their firmware with their backend hardware as compared to other ISP's. Yes, modems should meet a standard specification but there are always slight differences in how its done from one manufacturer to another.

In that case I will simply have to wait. I have no desire to ride on 3rd rate hardware especially with the prospect of real speed advances becoming available to us. I'm also running a Cisco business class router so chances of problems should be slightly less. Hopefully the new Cisco hardware is out soon. I will be moving from Extreme to 100.

I'd also like to than Shaw for offering reasonable packages that don't require their television package. I'm happy with their phone and internet but love my satellite

Rivalman
Rival
join:2004-01-18

Rivalman

Any new information as to when the Cisco gear will be available?

ShawSean
join:2010-07-16
Vernon, BC

ShawSean to banko

to banko
said by banko :

@SHAWSEAN

I got home and it seems to be working now on both IE and FF. It looks like it was some sort of maintenance Shaw was working on today. Other than that i dont know how else a whole "Usage" submenu would dissapear in the main Internet menu.

How long after you changed your packaging did you check your usage? it might have been the system populating the new packaging through your online customer care account.

regardless, i'm happy to hear it's working now.
ShawSean