uniqs
share rss forum feed

darky4

join:2011-04-23

[Config] CISCO 857 Drops Internet Access when idle

downloadshow.txt 11,325 bytes
Results from SHOW
Hi!

I Love my CISCO 857 it's a wonderful piece of kit, but theres a problem. I can't leave it unattended!

It's only my second piece of CISCO kit but I'm hooked and been self teaching pretty successfully over the last few months taking in loads of advice from everybody. But one problem is still causing me major problems.

If I leave it for a few hours/overnight etc when I come back to use the internet the connection is down. Browser complains of DNS issues however it shows as connected. Telnet into the router you find no obvious issues, various debugging doesn't show anything.

I think it could be Layer 2 issue as I can't ping gateway though. It could also be a config issue as I'm by no means an expert. It could also be the face that I live in the sticks about 6-7km from the exchange, basically it could be anything! ISP is UK O2 Broadband.

Please help me as I love my router (o:

Many Thanks

I have enclosed all the usual results from obvious show commands which i administered when i found it had stopped again.

nosx

join:2004-12-27
kudos:5
My advice is to setup an EEM applet like this:
ip sla 98
 http get http://www.google.com name-server 4.2.2.1
ip sla schedule 98 life forever start-time now
track 101 rtr 98 reachability
 delay down 5 up 10
event manager applet EEM_HTTPGET_GOOGLE_DOWN 
 event track 101 state down
 action 4 syslog priority errors msg "cant get google.com! ISP is broken!"
event manager applet EEM_HTTPGET_GOOGLE_UP 
 event track 101 state up
 action 4 syslog priority errors msg "cant get google.com! ISP is fixed!"
!

And configure it to run forever. You will be able to log into the router and perform a 'show log' command, and look for periods where your router could not reach google.