spc
Search similar:

uniqs
markmasters
join:2004-12-20
Bremerton, WA

markmasters

Can't connect to news.wavecable.com

I haven't been able to access usenet newsgroups for about a week. I have been using usenet since 1995 to get/give help and discuss things. Before I give wave a call and wait on hold all afternoon, I was wondering can anybody else access news.wavecable.com, or is having problems logging on? Here is the error message I'm receiving on all my computers (even after resetting the modem and router).

10:36:37 PM Unable to connect / authenticate server: news.wavecable.com @ news.wavecable.com (connect: Winsock Resolve Host: Cannot convert host address 'news.wavecable.com' - No Data (#11004)).

I have looked up the error number and I didn't find anything wrong on my end. I wonder if either, wave discontinued part of the internet, or their is a problem between them and I, somewhere.

Also can you recommend an affordable and reliable usenet service for the kitsap area, because I may have to switch services this summer if I can't log on with wave.
Thanks.
Mark

chpalmer
join:2002-11-18
Belfair, WA

chpalmer

news.wavecable.com no longer resolves to any address...

Looks like its gone away...

webmasterby
@starstream.net

webmasterby to markmasters

Anon

to markmasters
I am having the same problem, and all attemps to ping the server fail.

Matt22
@wavecable.com

Matt22 to markmasters

Anon

to markmasters
You can use any news server in the world, has nothing to do with your geographic location. I've tried several and finally settled on »www.newsdemon.com/ You might be able to find a code online that will get you a discount off their posted rates.
badcrc0
join:2002-03-22
Bremerton, WA

badcrc0 to markmasters

to markmasters
This really sucks. I've been having horrible services lately, lots of dropouts, slow downloads, and now they seem to have dropped usenet service. I might as well switch to DSL at this point and drop my cable service completely.

Kamikaze78