spc
Search similar:

uniqs
RacerX780
join:2005-12-27
Merchantville, NJ

RacerX780

Will Vonage work with Clear?

Found out today that my mom is switching to DirectTV... from Comcast. In doing so, the internet package they offer is for Clear... which I've used my laptop USB modem at her house before, and it works... not great, not for what I use it for... but for her it would be find. She surfs the web... emails... uses her Nook... downloads a song or two from iTunes... does not stream movies...

With Comcast she is using Vonage for phone server, which once she gets Clear she'll be using that.

Do the two work well together??

I've expressed my concerns... but I can't make her choose what I would do...

p110011
join:2001-12-29
Oregon City, OR

p110011

Yep, I've been using it for nearly two years. I have a V-Portal behind a Linksys WRT54GL that hooks to the Clear home modem.

Works as well as it did through Comcast.

NetFixer
From My Cold Dead Hands
Premium Member
join:2004-06-24
The Boro
Netgear CM500
Pace 5268AC
TRENDnet TEW-829DRU

NetFixer to RacerX780

Premium Member

to RacerX780
It is going to be a case of you won't know until you try it. Like any wireless service, the speed and latency will depend on the strength of the signal (which is usually relative to the distance to the ISP's antenna). If she has a good strong signal it will probably work just fine.

I think that in some areas, Clear offers their own VoIP service, so the service should be capable of supporting it.
RacerX780
Merchantville, NJ

RacerX780

Welp my mom got everything yesterday and I set everything up.... Vonage seems to be working fine.

Did a speadtest.net and she's only getting like 2.4 down.... I forget what up was.. but it should be ok for her needs.
jandrfas
join:2007-08-23
Downey, CA

jandrfas