spc
uniqs
watice
join:2008-11-01
New York, NY

watice to BHNtechXpert

to BHNtechXpert

Re: Sad but predictable outcome

I agree with your land of the laws statement. I'm no lawyer, but I'm pretty sure your domestic privacy is protected under our current laws.

I know you didn't make this analogy, but I see a severe flaw with the building a wall so you can't see in the house statement the person in this thread had mentioned. If I were to set up an email server for a company, and I happened to own the server, does that give me the right to go through everyones email? I think there's an expectation of privacy with emails (unless otherwise noted), and I'd think there'd be an even bigger expectation of privacy with data you transmit through your ISP's network.

DPI is wrong on so many levels, and inefficient if the savvy will continue to find ways around it. I myself use a VPN on my VPS as well, but only when I'm on someone else's network. I'd expect to have some sort of privacy when using the services of an ISP that I pay [a large chunk of] money to monthly.

ctceo
Premium Member
join:2001-04-26
South Bend, IN

ctceo

Premium Member

So them where does the problem truly lie?

The nature of your secured content?
The design and implementation of the infrastructure it uses?
The fees you pay for said services?
The system that generates the currency you use to pay for it?

The answer may surprise you.
BHNtechXpert
The One & Only
Premium Member
join:2006-02-16
Saint Petersburg, FL

BHNtechXpert to watice

Premium Member

to watice
said by watice:

I agree with your land of the laws statement. I'm no lawyer, but I'm pretty sure your domestic privacy is protected under our current laws.