how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

gsm

join:2009-03-10
Boulder, CO

comcast and vpns

Does comcast allow vpns. I need one for when I go over seas so I can watch netflix and I hear the private vpns are the way to go when dealing with the great firewall of china also I dont want to fork over 49.99+ to witopia for a service that may or may not work depending on how aggressive the Chinese are with blocking them. I am also switching to business class before I leave

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4
nothing against a vpn.....

fonzbear2000
Premium
join:2005-08-09
Saint Paul, MN
reply to gsm

NetFixer
Freedom is NOT Free
Premium
join:2004-06-24
The Boro
Reviews:
·Cingular Wireless
·Comcast Business..
·Vonage

1 edit
reply to gsm
You can certainly run a VPN service on your Comcast connection. I have done so in the past using a residential connection, and I currently run both IPSEC and PPTP VPN servers on my business class connection.

The only problem I have occasionally seen is that some public hot spots and corporate networks may block outgoing VPN connections. That is why I run both IPSEC and PPTP servers, since I have found that sometimes only one of those methods were blocked.

If you do switch to a business class service, I would suggest that you get at least one static IP address, because I have also run into cases where some DDNS domains were blocked by corporate firewalls (and I would not be surprised if the great firewall of China also did this).
--
History does not long entrust the care of freedom to the weak or the timid.
-- Dwight D. Eisenhower
The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants.
-- Thomas Jefferson

NetFixer
Freedom is NOT Free
Premium
join:2004-06-24
The Boro
Reviews:
·Cingular Wireless
·Comcast Business..
·Vonage
reply to fonzbear2000
And here is the official Comcast Xfinity policy for residential use of VPNs: