dslreports logo
site
 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc

spacer




how-to block ads


Search Topic:
uniqs
104901
share rss forum feed


sortofageek
Runs from Clowns
Premium,Mod
join:2001-08-19
kudos:23
reply to andyross

(topic move) Cary, IL - Lost the multi-channel upstream

Moderator Action
The post that was here (and all 1 followups to it), has been moved to a new topic .. »Cary, IL - Lost the multi-channel upstream


sortofageek
Runs from Clowns
Premium,Mod
join:2001-08-19
kudos:23
reply to Johkal

(topic move) Signals decline with loss of upstream bonding

Moderator Action
The post that was here (and all 1 followups to it), has been moved to a new topic .. »Signals decline with loss of upstream bonding


retiredqwest

join:2005-04-01
Spokane, WA

1 edit
reply to Chris 313

Re: Still got 2 channels upstream here in Spokane, WA

said by Chris 313:

What do you get for sustained download/upload speeds when downloading/uploading several large files from known fast sources? Judging from the picture, though, your upload looks fine to me. If your speed is 105/10 and you're getting 10 on the upload, you're getting your speed. And after the upgrade later this year, it'll be 105/20.

Funny you ask.... I just tried Microsoft Technet on a Win7 3.1 G iso and it peaked at 2.9MB which would make it about 24Mb.

BUT, when I use Newsbin Pro I've hit 95 Mb at times w/20 connections....

FTP uploading to my website yields a whopping 75KB.....
They must throttle the upload speed.

Speedtest's and file transfer speeds are totally subjective to how much bandwidth the hosting site is willing to allocate.

Given a do over, I should have canceled the 100\10 in the 30 day window.


Chris 313
Come get some
Premium
join:2004-07-18
Houma, LA
kudos:1
Reviews:
·AT&T U-Verse
·Vonage
·Comcast
·Comcast Digital ..
reply to retiredqwest
said by retiredqwest:

I rebooted my modem yesterday and it still has 2 upstream channels. But from the above I don't have some fantastic upload speeds.

I'm on Extreme 105/10 BTW.

What do you get for sustained download/upload speeds when downloading/uploading several large files from known fast sources? Judging from the picture, though, your upload looks fine to me. If your speed is 105/10 and you're getting 10 on the upload, you're getting your speed. And after the upgrade later this year, it'll be 105/20.


retiredqwest

join:2005-04-01
Spokane, WA
reply to rolfp
 
 
I rebooted my modem yesterday and it still has 2 upstream channels. But from the above I don't have some fantastic upload speeds.

I'm on Extreme 105/10 BTW.


rolfp

join:2011-03-27
Oakland, CA
kudos:1
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to altdel

Still got 3 channels upstream here in Oakland, SF Bay Area

said by altdel:

Modem rebooted itself 30 minutes ago, and lost upstream bonding here in East Bay, SF Bay Area.

Gettin' close to home! Nothing in the log since July 9, when I rebooted the Ubee, myself, for s&g. I didn't see any info why this change in the service is happening. Oh, I guess it is a test, not an established part of service, as stated in this thread.

nysports4evr
Premium
join:2010-01-23
kudos:1
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to Oedipus

Re: Evidence of Upstream Channel Bonding - Post Here

said by Oedipus:

My trusty 702G hasn't rebooted yet, so I still have 3 channels.

Edit - My hateful 702G just rebooted and now I'm down to 1 64 QAM channel.


Oedipus

join:2005-05-09
kudos:1

2 edits
reply to Johkal

Back to single channel in Clovis, CA

My trusty 702G hasn't rebooted yet, so I still have 3 channels.

Edit - My hateful 702G just rebooted and now I'm down to 1 64 QAM channel.

altdel

join:2003-08-20
Danville, CA

1 edit
reply to Johkal

Lost in East Bay, SF Bay Area

Modem rebooted itself 30 minutes ago, and lost upstream bonding here in East Bay, SF Bay Area.

neufuse

join:2006-12-06
James Creek, PA

1 edit
reply to Johkal

Lost in Indiana, PA

upstream bonding disappeared here too now


Johkal
Cool Cat
Premium,MVM
join:2002-11-13
Happy Valley
kudos:10
reply to andyross

Re: Schaumburg, IL - Lost the multi-channel upstream

It's hard to tell anyway, because the time didn't sync after the T4 and other entries till much later.

Jul 14 2011 08:12:58 3-Critical R02.0 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=00:23:74:f1:ae:8a;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:24:7e:8b;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Jan 01 1970 00:06:41 5-Warning R09.0 B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=00:23:74:f1:ae:8a;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:24:7e:8b;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Jan 01 1970 00:06:38 3-Critical R02.0 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=00:23:74:f1:ae:8a;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:24:7e:8b;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Jan 01 1970 00:03:59 5-Warning R09.0 B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=00:23:74:f1:ae:8a;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:24:7e:8b;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Jan 01 1970 00:03:40 3-Critical R02.0 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=00:23:74:f1:ae:8a;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:24:7e:8b;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Jan 01 1970 00:00:12 6-Notice Cable Modem Reboot due to T4 timeout ;CM-MAC=00:23:74:f1:ae:8a;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Jul 14 2011 03:04:16 3-Critical R04.0 Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=00:23:74:f1:ae:8a;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:24:7e:8b;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Jul 14 2011 03:04:02 3-Critical T05.0 SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=00:23:74:f1:ae:8a;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:24:7e:8b;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
--
In God we trust; all others bring data!


andyross
Premium,MVM
join:2003-05-04
Schaumburg, IL
reply to Johkal
Just remember that the modem's log does NOT take daylight savings into effect, so you need to add one hour to the time.


Johkal
Cool Cat
Premium,MVM
join:2002-11-13
Happy Valley
kudos:10
reply to andyross
Looking at my log today, it appears that my modem rebooted sometime after 3 am.

andyross
Premium,MVM
join:2003-05-04
Schaumburg, IL
reply to Johkal
I didn't manually reboot it. From the logs, there were 2 reboots. The first around 2:07am, and the other around 4:41. Probably due to Comcast shifting the downstream channels around.


Johkal
Cool Cat
Premium,MVM
join:2002-11-13
Happy Valley
kudos:10

1 edit
reply to andyross

Lost in State College, PA

Well, unfortunately mine has also reverted back to 1 Upstream Channel. I didn't reboot as you did.

andyross
Premium,MVM
join:2003-05-04
Schaumburg, IL

2 edits
reply to Johkal

Schaumburg, IL - Lost the multi-channel upstream

Click for full size
My modem was rebooted overnight, and I lost the upstream bonding. Worse, it's now on the 32QAM channel. Even more interesting, it's now using 4 new frequencies for the downstream.
It used to be 693, 699, 705, and 711. Now it's 651, 657, 663, 693.


retiredqwest

join:2005-04-01
Spokane, WA
reply to Wayne99021

Re: Spokane, WA

Wayne....

You haven't learned not to ask the techs about things yet??

In all fairness and as a former outside tech, we are usually the last ones to hear about things like that.

And I don't recall when I first saw the 2 up channels..... its been a few weeks at least.


Wayne99021
Premium
join:2004-12-28
Mead, WA
kudos:1
reply to elkido122
Me Too!
I was told by a couple Comcast techs a month ago, there was no plans on upstream channel bonding in the Spokane area this year and maybe next.


elkido122

join:2011-02-23
Folsom, CA
reply to retiredqwest
I'm kind suprised actually
Expand your moderator at work


retiredqwest

join:2005-04-01
Spokane, WA
reply to elkido122

Re: Spokane, WA

Click for full size
still there.....
Expand your moderator at work


elkido122

join:2011-02-23
Folsom, CA
reply to retiredqwest

Re: Spokane, WA

^ reboot your modem and lets see if you still have bonding alot of people report it goes away after a reboot


retiredqwest

join:2005-04-01
Spokane, WA

1 edit
reply to Johkal
Click for full size
Spokane, WA
E105\10


sortofageek
Runs from Clowns
Premium,Mod
join:2001-08-19
kudos:23
reply to wase

(topic move) Channel Bonding Question - Aurora, IL

Moderator Action
The post that was here (and all 1 followups to it), has been moved to a new topic .. »Channel Bonding Question - Aurora, IL
Expand your moderator at work