dslreports logo
site
 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc

spacer




how-to block ads


Search Topic:
uniqs
104795
share rss forum feed
Expand your moderator at work


elkido122

join:2011-02-23
Folsom, CA
reply to retiredqwest

Re: Spokane, WA

I'm kind suprised actually


Wayne99021
Premium
join:2004-12-28
Mead, WA
kudos:1
Me Too!
I was told by a couple Comcast techs a month ago, there was no plans on upstream channel bonding in the Spokane area this year and maybe next.


retiredqwest

join:2005-04-01
Spokane, WA
Wayne....

You haven't learned not to ask the techs about things yet??

In all fairness and as a former outside tech, we are usually the last ones to hear about things like that.

And I don't recall when I first saw the 2 up channels..... its been a few weeks at least.

andyross
Premium,MVM
join:2003-05-04
Schaumburg, IL

2 edits
reply to Johkal

Schaumburg, IL - Lost the multi-channel upstream

Click for full size
My modem was rebooted overnight, and I lost the upstream bonding. Worse, it's now on the 32QAM channel. Even more interesting, it's now using 4 new frequencies for the downstream.
It used to be 693, 699, 705, and 711. Now it's 651, 657, 663, 693.


Johkal
Cool Cat
Premium,MVM
join:2002-11-13
Happy Valley
kudos:10

1 edit

Lost in State College, PA

Well, unfortunately mine has also reverted back to 1 Upstream Channel. I didn't reboot as you did.

andyross
Premium,MVM
join:2003-05-04
Schaumburg, IL

Re: Schaumburg, IL - Lost the multi-channel upstream

I didn't manually reboot it. From the logs, there were 2 reboots. The first around 2:07am, and the other around 4:41. Probably due to Comcast shifting the downstream channels around.


Johkal
Cool Cat
Premium,MVM
join:2002-11-13
Happy Valley
kudos:10
Looking at my log today, it appears that my modem rebooted sometime after 3 am.

andyross
Premium,MVM
join:2003-05-04
Schaumburg, IL
Just remember that the modem's log does NOT take daylight savings into effect, so you need to add one hour to the time.


Johkal
Cool Cat
Premium,MVM
join:2002-11-13
Happy Valley
kudos:10
It's hard to tell anyway, because the time didn't sync after the T4 and other entries till much later.

Jul 14 2011 08:12:58 3-Critical R02.0 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=00:23:74:f1:ae:8a;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:24:7e:8b;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Jan 01 1970 00:06:41 5-Warning R09.0 B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=00:23:74:f1:ae:8a;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:24:7e:8b;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Jan 01 1970 00:06:38 3-Critical R02.0 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=00:23:74:f1:ae:8a;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:24:7e:8b;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Jan 01 1970 00:03:59 5-Warning R09.0 B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=00:23:74:f1:ae:8a;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:24:7e:8b;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Jan 01 1970 00:03:40 3-Critical R02.0 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=00:23:74:f1:ae:8a;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:24:7e:8b;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Jan 01 1970 00:00:12 6-Notice Cable Modem Reboot due to T4 timeout ;CM-MAC=00:23:74:f1:ae:8a;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Jul 14 2011 03:04:16 3-Critical R04.0 Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=00:23:74:f1:ae:8a;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:24:7e:8b;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Jul 14 2011 03:04:02 3-Critical T05.0 SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=00:23:74:f1:ae:8a;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:24:7e:8b;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
--
In God we trust; all others bring data!


neufuse

join:2006-12-06
James Creek, PA

1 edit
reply to Johkal

Lost in Indiana, PA

upstream bonding disappeared here too now

altdel

join:2003-08-20
Danville, CA

1 edit
reply to Johkal

Lost in East Bay, SF Bay Area

Modem rebooted itself 30 minutes ago, and lost upstream bonding here in East Bay, SF Bay Area.

Oedipus

join:2005-05-09
kudos:1

2 edits
reply to Johkal

Back to single channel in Clovis, CA

My trusty 702G hasn't rebooted yet, so I still have 3 channels.

Edit - My hateful 702G just rebooted and now I'm down to 1 64 QAM channel.

nysports4evr
Premium
join:2010-01-23
kudos:1
Reviews:
·Comcast

Re: Evidence of Upstream Channel Bonding - Post Here

said by Oedipus:

My trusty 702G hasn't rebooted yet, so I still have 3 channels.

Edit - My hateful 702G just rebooted and now I'm down to 1 64 QAM channel.



rolfp

join:2011-03-27
Oakland, CA
kudos:1
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to altdel

Still got 3 channels upstream here in Oakland, SF Bay Area

said by altdel:

Modem rebooted itself 30 minutes ago, and lost upstream bonding here in East Bay, SF Bay Area.

Gettin' close to home! Nothing in the log since July 9, when I rebooted the Ubee, myself, for s&g. I didn't see any info why this change in the service is happening. Oh, I guess it is a test, not an established part of service, as stated in this thread.


retiredqwest

join:2005-04-01
Spokane, WA

Still got 2 channels upstream here in Spokane, WA

 
 
I rebooted my modem yesterday and it still has 2 upstream channels. But from the above I don't have some fantastic upload speeds.

I'm on Extreme 105/10 BTW.


Chris 313
Come get some
Premium
join:2004-07-18
Houma, LA
kudos:1
Reviews:
·AT&T U-Verse
·Vonage
·Comcast
·Comcast Digital ..
said by retiredqwest:

I rebooted my modem yesterday and it still has 2 upstream channels. But from the above I don't have some fantastic upload speeds.

I'm on Extreme 105/10 BTW.

What do you get for sustained download/upload speeds when downloading/uploading several large files from known fast sources? Judging from the picture, though, your upload looks fine to me. If your speed is 105/10 and you're getting 10 on the upload, you're getting your speed. And after the upgrade later this year, it'll be 105/20.


retiredqwest

join:2005-04-01
Spokane, WA

1 edit
said by Chris 313:

What do you get for sustained download/upload speeds when downloading/uploading several large files from known fast sources? Judging from the picture, though, your upload looks fine to me. If your speed is 105/10 and you're getting 10 on the upload, you're getting your speed. And after the upgrade later this year, it'll be 105/20.

Funny you ask.... I just tried Microsoft Technet on a Win7 3.1 G iso and it peaked at 2.9MB which would make it about 24Mb.

BUT, when I use Newsbin Pro I've hit 95 Mb at times w/20 connections....

FTP uploading to my website yields a whopping 75KB.....
They must throttle the upload speed.

Speedtest's and file transfer speeds are totally subjective to how much bandwidth the hosting site is willing to allocate.

Given a do over, I should have canceled the 100\10 in the 30 day window.


sortofageek
Runs from Clowns
Premium,Mod
join:2001-08-19
kudos:23
reply to Johkal

(topic move) Signals decline with loss of upstream bonding

Moderator Action
The post that was here (and all 1 followups to it), has been moved to a new topic .. »Signals decline with loss of upstream bonding


sortofageek
Runs from Clowns
Premium,Mod
join:2001-08-19
kudos:23
reply to andyross

(topic move) Cary, IL - Lost the multi-channel upstream

Moderator Action
The post that was here (and all 1 followups to it), has been moved to a new topic .. »Cary, IL - Lost the multi-channel upstream


sortofageek
Runs from Clowns
Premium,Mod
join:2001-08-19
kudos:23
reply to Johkal

(topic move) Channel Bonding, do you have to power cycle?

Moderator Action
The post that was here (and all 1 followups to it), has been moved to a new topic .. »Channel Bonding, do you have to power cycle?


LarryE

join:2000-07-29
Chicago, IL
kudos:1

4 edits
reply to Johkal

Chicago, IL

Click for full size
Just got upstream bonding back yesterday here in Chicago.

See also ---> »Chicago, IL 60625
»Chicago, IL 60613
»Chicago, IL


joepwpb
Premium
join:2000-12-15
West Palm Beach, FL
said by LarryE:

Just got upstream bonding back yesterday here in Chicago.

Lucky You!!! No change here...

Joe P


rolfp

join:2011-03-27
Oakland, CA
kudos:1
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to Johkal

Gone, solid gone in Oakland

Just noticed the US LED had turned from blue to green last night, apparently




$ ./prober 
DiffProbe beta release. October 2009.
Shaper Detection Module.
 
Connected to server 38.106.70.149.
 
Estimating capacity:
Upstream: 4219 Kbps.
Downstream: 25634 Kbps.
 
The measurement will last for about 2.5 minutes. Please wait.
 
Checking for traffic shapers:
 
Upstream: Burst size: 4827-4902 KB; Shaping rate: 2128 Kbps.
 
Downstream: Burst size: 9684-10025 KB; Shaping rate: 15978 Kbps.
 
For more information, visit: http://www.cc.gatech.edu/~partha/diffprobe
 

Dumaine

join:2010-12-05
Detroit, MI

1 edit
reply to Johkal

Detroit, MI

Click for full size
woke up to this in Detroit.....rebooted Arris and they remained....so time will tell!


sortofageek
Runs from Clowns
Premium,Mod
join:2001-08-19
kudos:23
reply to Johkal

(topic move) Modesto, California has downstream channel bonding

Moderator Action
The post that was here (and all 1 followups to it), has been moved to a new topic .. »Modesto, California has downstream channel bonding

Extide

join:2000-06-11
84129

1 edit
reply to Dumaine

Salt Lake City, UT

Been like this for a week or so at least.

SLC, Utah

Up:



Down:



sortofageek
Runs from Clowns
Premium,Mod
join:2001-08-19
kudos:23
reply to Johkal

(topic move) No multiple upload channels here yet - California

Moderator Action
The post that was here, has been moved to a new topic .. »No multiple upload channels here yet - California


sortofageek
Runs from Clowns
Premium,Mod
join:2001-08-19
kudos:23
reply to Dumaine

(topic move) Still single channel upstream in Boston-Edison

Moderator Action
The post that was here, has been moved to a new topic .. »Still single channel upstream in Boston-Edison