join:1999-11-19
Brooklyn, NY
ARRIS TM822
Actiontec MI424WR Rev. I

1 edit

MxxCon to aefstoggaflm

to aefstoggaflm

Re: [modem/router] How to access 6100G's interface while connect

ugh. somebody who has ~6500 posts and have been a member of this site for ~12 years, you'd understand is not a total noob.
said by aefstoggaflm:

said by MxxCon:

and if there's a router, then what would your suggestion be?

Please answer as many as you can.

ok, here it is.
said by aefstoggaflm:

#1 What is the make and model number of the router. If this does not apply, reply with N/A.

Linksys WRT54GS running Tomato firmware with wan port disabled connected into Netgear WNR3500L running SamKnows firmware connected into westell 6100G modem.
said by aefstoggaflm:

#2 What is the ip address of the router? If this does not apply, reply with N/A.

SK is 192.168.1.1, Tomato is 192.168.1.2
said by aefstoggaflm:

#3 Are there two ethernet ports on the Westell?

1 port
do Westell 6100G even exist with 2 ethernet ports?
said by aefstoggaflm:

#4 If there is only one ethernet port on the modem: Do you have a hub or a switch that not IP aware (not a Layer 3 switch)?

no
said by aefstoggaflm:

#5 What is the ip address of the westell?

said by aefstoggaflm:

#6 Does your computer have at least two NICs?

yes, with one nic disabled
said by aefstoggaflm:

#7 Do you know how to setup a Static IP on you computer?

yes. it is already set to 192.168.1.100

aefstoggaflm
Open Source Fan
Premium Member
join:2002-03-04
Bethlehem, PA
Linksys E4200
ARRIS SB6141

4 edits

aefstoggaflm

Premium Member

Ok.

#1 I am happy to say you can access the modem combo while it is in bridge mode, but I am sad to say you can't access the net and the modem combo at the same time without, either:

a) A modem combo with at least two LAN ports.

b) OR a hub/switch (that is not Layer 3 aware).

#2 Once you have a modem combo with at least two LAN ports...