Search similar:

uniqs

Quicksand10
@bell.ca

Quicksand10

Anon

[OC] Can anyone recommend settings?

Hey everyone,

I just upgraded my system from an AMD Athlon II X4 640 to an AMD Phenom II X6 1100T with a Thermaltake Frio CLP0564 cooler (with both fans).

Other System Specs:
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 rev 2.0
Hard Drive: WD 2TB SATA 3.0 (6GBPS)
8GB Kingston DDR3 (2 DIMMs)
EVGA 8300GTS videocard
Mid-tower ATX case (Antec Sonata IV) with 1 120mm case fan and side vent

Currently (shortly after installation, CPU paste hasn't had time to spread evenly yet) temps are at 40C. Do I wait to break in the new processor or do I apply settings now? This is my first attempt at overclocking.

Doing a lot of number crunching at an office, this computer is ready for an overclocking treatment.

Can anyone suggest any settings I should put on the BIOS in this case, or do you need more information before suggesting?

Thanks a lot,

Quicksand10, beginner to overclocking

ocing engage
@optonline.net

ocing engage

Anon

If the pc is at an "office" doing "numbers" idk if I would OC it... you know one mistake is one mistake too many but if you wanta...

The paste is not gona drop like 5C if it does you did something wrong... the paste should be spread already, the only thing if it even has a cure time (most now do not) that will happen is it will fill in the very small imperfections in the surface of the IHS and HS... that aint gona get you the 5c mentioned before.

I would start to bump her up... watch your temps... if they really suck you may need to reseat the cooler (maybe you put too much paste or not enough you will know when you pull the cooler off) get a better cooler, lap something, got a fail chip.

Quicksand10
@videotron.ca

Quicksand10

Anon

OK thanks for the insight ocing engage,
I'll keep an eye out for the temperatures.

signmeuptoo94
Bless you Howie
Premium Member
join:2001-11-22
NanoParticle

signmeuptoo94 to ocing engage

Premium Member

to ocing engage