Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

jstrick9

join:2011-03-11

Wiring a 66 block/Virtual PBX

Click for full size
Hello, all.

Thank you in advance for taking the time to read my questions.

We're moving into a new office, and we've made the decision that we would like to use Grasshopper for our phone system. Grasshopper is a virtual PBX system. Before I get to my setup, I am hoping someone could explain to me the basics of how virtual PBX's work, so I can have a better understanding.

My primary question relates to wiring. I've decided that I would like to make sure the wiring is fit for service myself. I am new to this, but it is something that I want to learn and do myself. Our office has 5 individual offices inside of it. Each office is connected on the left side to what I have labeled as 'Block 1' in my attached diagram. Block 1 is a non-split type 66 block, meaning, the rows are a complete bridge.

'Block 2' is another 66 block to the right side of 'Block 1'. Block 2 is a split block, meaning, column A & B are connected, and column C & D are connected. The 25 pair from the telephone company comes into the left side of 'Block 2'.

Please correct me where I am wrong. Is it my understanding that the telephone company will activate one pair of the 25 pair cable per line that I order. For example, the top-most pair on the 25 pair cable is Blue/Blue White. Hypothetically, should the telco activate that pair as my phone line, I would then need to make a connection on the right side of the same block, matching the line, and then bring it over to 'Block 1' to connect to my office connections, right? (Please let me know if I have this wrong)

Assuming that's how it is suppose to be done, my question then becomes this: Having only 1 phone line coming from 'Block 2', do I need to then daisy chain the line through all of the office connections so that all off the office phone jacks have a connection to that one line?