spc

spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

QMLM

@suddenlink.net

Looking for Reliable and fast ISP for West Houston(Gamer)

I'm a recent college graduate moving into the Westchase District in Western houston. I've never really had to deal with shopping around for ISPs since I've either had little choice (small town) or lived with parents.

I'm Looking for a fast and reliable ISP that can handle Online gaming and movie/show streaming (netflix/hulu) with unlimited cap.

At my current living situation in another city, I'm with Suddenlink and I have no download cap, and speedtest.net shows 10MBps download speed and 1MBps upload. We pay $25 for this plan. I have no problems with there service, but know that internet reliability changes based on the area.

One concern I have is with Throttling and/or Shared Bandwidth during prime-time usage, which is when a lot of my online gaming will occur.

Anyone have any suggestions, or know where I might find information on ISPs servicing my area?

-QM

MysticGogeta
The Robot Devil
Premium
join:2005-03-14
Katy, TX

Well the two big company's Comcast (250 GB Per month cap but unlimited on a business line)and AT&T has a cap system depending on level of service. I'm unaware of any service that will have unlimited in Houston but I'm sure someone will chime in with some more info.
--
Team Discovery-Join the fight

ilikeme
I live in a van down by the river.
Premium
join:2002-08-27
Sugar Land, TX
kudos:1
Reviews:
·Vonage
reply to QMLM

My parents live in that area and the only options are At&t DSL, At&t U-Verse, and Comcast. Some apartment complexes have different cable companies such as TV Max or Phonoscope, but those aren't much different. That said, my parents have had Uverse, Comcast, and DSL, and the one they have had the most problems with was Comcast.

QMLM

@suddenlink.net
reply to MysticGogeta

250GB would probably work. I know between me and my roommate we use about 240-260GB per month.