spc
Search similar:

uniqs
Sanek
join:2006-08-10
Kanata, ON

Sanek

Rogers Upstream Bonding

Some people have been saying that Rogers cannot provide upsteam bonding because certain frequencies are taken by some channels on the analog cable, but I was skeptical, so I decided to check the standards for both DOCSIS and North American Analog Cable Television Frequencies.

DOCSIS spec uses 5MHz-42MHz for its upstream frequency range. Rogers is using QAM64 for the upstream channels, which means that each channel is 3.2 MHz wide, which means there is enough room for say 11 upstream channels.

Unless Rogers has any Subband channels, I don't see how anything would be interfering with the analog cable. Lowband channels start at 55.25MHz, which is after the DOCSIS upstream frequency range.

I know I have not seen any Subband channels, so unless I'm missing something, I don't see whats stopping Rogers here.

Granted that I'm not an expert on this, so sorry if I screwed something up

HiVolt
Premium Member
join:2000-12-28
Toronto, ON

HiVolt

Premium Member

Rogers currently uses QAM16 for upstream. I did hear somewhere that they will be upgrading to QAM64.

Whether it translates to upstream channel bonding and faster upload speeds being offered, who knows.

sbrook
Mod
join:2001-12-14
Ottawa

sbrook to Sanek

Mod

to Sanek
Although the spec does permit 5-42 MHz, this range is splattered with RF noise from shortwave transmitters of many sorts and RF generated by things like dimmers, fluorescent lamps ... all manner of electical interference. This is why when cable modems fail, they usually fail because of signal levels on the upstream path rather than the downstream The selected range is normally just above 30 MHz being one of the "quieter" parts of the spectrum.

Rogers currently uses 16 QAM on its upstream path to keep noise problems to a minimum. To use higher modulation standards would mean it would be even more sensitive to noise.