how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

gopcs

join:2005-11-16
Nashville, TN

[netopia] Data Rate changes

I have been using the Netopia 3347W for about 4 years or so. I subscribe to the 6Mbps service DSL from AT&T (Formerly Bellsouth).

Lately, I have been noticing that the Data Rate was slow. I go to the Netopia, and it reports Data Rate Downstream: 3296, for example. Sometimes, it may be 2500 or less. Then I click on Restart, and after Restarting the report is Data Rate Downstream: 7010Mbps. Then in a day or so, I check it, and the data rate has dropped again. Restarting it fixes it temporarily.

Is this an issue with the modem, or with the DSL service?

The Netopia 3347W software version is 7.4.2r3.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

gopcs

Nashville, TN
more info:

Current status
Downstream Upstream
---------- ----------
SNR Margin: 10.49 14.00 dB
Line Attenuation: 41.12 20.50 dB
Output Power: 19.51 11.97 dB
Errored Seconds: 1 1
Loss of Signal: 0 0
Loss of Frame: 0 0
CRC Errors: 2 0
Data Rate: 7040 512

From what I can find, these stats could be a bit better on the Downstream.

tschmidt
Premium,MVM
join:2000-11-12
Milford, NH
kudos:9
Reviews:
·G4 Communications
·Fairpoint Commun..
·Hollis Hosting
reply to gopcs
ADSL is adaptive the modem and DSLAM automatically compensate for various line impairments. It is not uncommon to see speed or margin to vary a little but not 8000 to 2500. As you surmise margin could be better, downstream transmit power is pretty much at max. Do you know what speed modem should be syncing at? Here in Verizon/FairPoint land upload is typically 768 Kbps with sync speed set to 864Kbps for the 7 Mbps package.

Does DSL share phone line? If so how is voice quality, any noise especially when the phone is first picked up? What about crosstalk, other voices? If voice service is not up to par call voice repair.