how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

sparkleclean

join:2005-06-02
Kansas City, MO

Using Linksys SPA2102 with PhonePower?

I have been using PhonePower for 3 years with no problems in my office. Am using a 4 phone base unit connected to Grandstream 502.

The boss [wife] has given the go ahead to go VOIP. I called PP Tech Support today and asked them about connecting the new Grandstream 502 to the house phone wiring. Vince, in no uncertain terms, stated that PhonePower does not support this configuration and that it would void the warranty. Told him I was aware of disconnecting the incoming ATT phone line at house - stated that did not matter - Grandstream 502 would not support this setup.

He suggested going the BYOD route and using the Linksys SPA2102 ATA. Has anyone had experience with this setup? Would appreciate any feedback. My other option is TWC digital phone or buying a second phone base set.

Note: I had to dig through the Terms of Service to find any reference to this issue [Section 6.4 Replacement Equipment]

topgun

join:2011-01-31
Reviews:
·VOIPO
·PHONE POWER

I myself prefer not to screw with house wiring...read this thread »www.phonepower.com/forum/topic.p···post-140

"While is is technically possible, we highly advise against the use of house wiring, as most of the VOIP adapters we lease do not support REN high enough to accommodate such usage.

Per section 6.4 of our Terms and Agreements, if a leased device is determined to have been damaged by house wiring, a damaged device fee will be applied.

If you really wish to use house wiring, I suggest using a BYOD (Bring Your Own Device)."

For a little over a bill (100.00) you can get a nice Panasonic KX-TG6545B with 5 handsets that have awesome voice quality! Don't mess with different phones with varying sound qualities. I say KISS
--
I got the need for speed »bit.ly/topgunparody

goober22
Resident Duh-Huh Member

join:2001-12-28
Panama City, FL
kudos:1
Reviews:
·Knology