site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
523
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·Members Help Page ·Site FAQ ·Site bugs FAQ
AuthorAll Replies


pokesph
It Is Almost Fast
Premium
join:2001-06-25
Sacramento, CA
kudos:1

[bug] Phish Tracker returning emails

Tried to do a couple new phish submissions and am getting my emails returned with the following errors:
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.
 
A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:
 
  phish+418269_9943@dslreports.com
    SMTP error from remote mail server after RCPT TO:<phish+418269_9943@dslreports.com>:
    host mail.dslreports.com [209.123.192.187]: 450 <phish+418269_9943@dslreports.com>:
    Recipient address rejected: Greylisted, see http://postgrey.schweikert.ch/help/dslreports.com.html:
    retry timeout exceeded
 

May be something to look into..

--
Webmaster - Steve
- - - - - - - - - - - -
»www.1-gb.net
»www.ppnstudio.com


nil
Java Geek
join:2000-11-27
kudos:1

Greylisting is a spam fighting technique, try sending again? Your email server should auto retry in a 5-15min on these rejects.
--
Life is too short to be boring



pokesph
It Is Almost Fast
Premium
join:2001-06-25
Sacramento, CA
kudos:1

It's telling my email server that it is a permanent error..

I did try to resend only to get the same bounce.



pokesph
It Is Almost Fast
Premium
join:2001-06-25
Sacramento, CA
kudos:1

reply to pokesph
Tried again this morning, its still bouncing submission emails..

I can't seem to send any phish reports in now because of this.
Someone may need to check it.



nil
Java Geek
join:2000-11-27
kudos:1
Host:
Webmasters and Dev..
Forum Feature Requ..

I checked the logs, I see a bounce at 11:59 today. It returns error code 450, which is a soft bounce If your server is treating that as a permanent error, then it's not behaving properly.

I don't see any other attempts.

Is this the right log entry:

 
Sep 19 11:59:42 coral postfix/smtpd[22418]: connect from xxxxng.com[174.133.xxx.xxx]
Sep 19 11:59:42 coral postgrey[4248]: action=greylist, reason=new, client_name=xxxxng.com, client_address=174.133.xxx.xxx sender=xxx@xxxxng.com, recipient=phish+418269_9943@dslreports.com 
Sep 19 11:59:42 coral postfix/smtpd[22418]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from xxxxng.com[174.133.xxx.xxx]: 450 <phish+418269_9943@dslreports.com>: Recipient address rejected: Greylisted, see http://postgrey.schweikert.ch/help/dslreports.com.html; from=<xxxx@xxxxng.com> to=<phish+418269_9943@dslreports.com> proto=ESMTP helo=<xxxxng.com>
Sep 19 11:59:42 coral postfix/smtpd[22418]: disconnect from xxxxng.com[174.133.xxx.xxx]
 

--
Life is too short to be boring


pokesph
It Is Almost Fast
Premium
join:2001-06-25
Sacramento, CA
kudos:1

reply to pokesph
well now.. the returned report says it's perm.. and my server is seeing that way.

anyway, why is it even bouncing at all? Something isn't right as to cause the bounce in the first place.
I've sent from that same email account since the tracker was opened, and never had issues before.



nil
Java Geek
join:2000-11-27
kudos:1
Host:
Webmasters and Dev..
Forum Feature Requ..

It's greylisting, that's how it works. It'll soft-bounce the first email and note it when the server retries in 5+ minutes. Next email would not bounce.

It saves it as sender->recipient and keeps track for a while (I forget exactly how long we have it configured for, but it's no more than a few days).

It works quite well to help prevent spam.

Are you using a different email server or changed something in config? We've had greylisting turned on for years now.

--
Life is too short to be boring



pokesph
It Is Almost Fast
Premium
join:2001-06-25
Sacramento, CA
kudos:1

nothing has changed on my end.. same email account from the same server without any changes. server is properly set up, uses normal best practices, spf, DKM, reverse dns, etc

Have sent many phish reports previously and never had a bounce before. this, for me anyway, is something recent.



nwrickert
sand groper
Premium,MVM
join:2004-09-04
Geneva, IL
kudos:7
Reviews:
·AT&T U-Verse

I have seen greylisting before. I don't see a bounce, but the logs show that the mail is delayed in sending. I agree with nil See Profile, that greylisting has been in use for several years (probably at least 4 or 5 years).

Check whether the configuration of your server has changed.
--
AT&T Uverse; Zyxel NBG334W router (behind the 2wire gateway); openSuSE 11.4; firefox 6.0.2



pokesph
It Is Almost Fast
Premium
join:2001-06-25
Sacramento, CA
kudos:1

said by nwrickert:

...
Check whether the configuration of your server has changed.

I just posted that it hasn't.

not sure what's going on.. I resent them from my ISP's email and didn't get any response.. at all.

I still think its broken somehow.
--
Webmaster - Steve
- - - - - - - - - - - -
»www.1-gb.net
»www.ppnstudio.com


nil
Java Geek
join:2000-11-27
kudos:1

Did you use a different recipient? Nothing in our logs.



pokesph
It Is Almost Fast
Premium
join:2001-06-25
Sacramento, CA
kudos:1

reply to pokesph
no, same one as previous emails..

Just did another submission from my primary email and it went through this time.

strange, very strange.
--
Webmaster - Steve
- - - - - - - - - - - -
»www.1-gb.net
»www.ppnstudio.com


Friday, 01-Jun 18:23:32 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics