uniqs
share rss forum feed

dyhrdmet

join:2008-10-25
Springfield, NJ
reply to JCO65

Re: Local Sports Blackouts

said by JCO65:

He should be able to see a non exclusive Flyers game on Both channels, although it most likely Versus's feed would be a simulcast from the CSN Philly feed.

you'd have to hope there isn't a loophole or flaw in the rules that dictates that both feeds get blacked out instead of neither. and you're probably right that the non-exclusive broadcast would be CSN Philly.

JCO65

join:2010-01-15
Brick, NJ
kudos:1
Give you an example about what happened last year, Versus aired a few non exclusive Rangers games. They picked up the MSG feed and that feed was shown both on Versus and MSG locally with NO blackout on either channel. This was for regular season gams.

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4
reply to dyhrdmet
nhl blackout areas need to looked at...corporate is looking at ours, because when the caps pens game was on versus (national), it was blacked out because the blackout areas have my area (dover, DE) as a washington market, however we get CSN philly.....so i couldnt watch it on tv, or online through gamecenter live.....

i have someone looking into it, cause ill be damned if i miss the rest of that series when they air on national.....
--
I'm better than you!

dyhrdmet

Springfield, NJ
there's actually a lot of gray areas in each of the leagues' blackout policies (nba, nhl, and mlb; probably mls too). i can see Dover, DE as being connected to both Baltimore and Philly, and Baltimore is in the same RSN market as Washington, DC, so by proxy, you're in Caps territory and Flyers territory, even if Comcast doesn't recognize it by not making both CSN Philly and CSN DC available to you. maybe that connection is a stretch.

or, you hit one of those issues that i hit when i started this thread where I was clearly outside the Philly market, yet was being blacked out of Philly games on the national networks.