republican-creole
site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
1113
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·Forum Rules ·SBC/Yahoo Information ·Migration link for existing users
AuthorAll Replies


oldOscar

@snet.net

Got an Email about old Snet "Account Validation"

Due to the congestion in all Snet.net users and removal of all unused Accounts,

Snet would be shutting down all unused Accounts, You will have to confirm your E-mail by filling out your Login Information below after clicking the reply button,

* Username: .............................................
* Password: .............................................
* Date of Birth: ...........................................
* Country Or Territory: ................................

After following the instructions in the sheet, your account will not be interrupted and will continue as normal.

Warning!!!: Account owner that refuses to update his/her account after two days of receiving this warning stands the risk of losing his or her account permanentl

--

Well, I d/l this message 4 days after it was sent and email is
still working.

I looked at the headers and it was sent by adalessio02@snet.net.
So who is this person? The reply was to:
confirm_account1@live.com; who is that?

Anyone using the old snet.net email address get this notice?

I'll post the full header+message if that is pertinent.


DrStrange
Technically feasible
Premium
join:2001-07-23
West Hartford, CT
kudos:1

Whoever composed that mail is not a native English-speaker. Full headers would be helpful.

If I were a gambler, I'd wager at least $50 that the mail came from Russia or somewhere in Eastern Europe. The grammatical and usage errors suggest that the author is a native speaker of a Slavic language.


NormanS
Premium,MVM
join:2001-02-14
San Jose, CA
kudos:4
Reviews:
·SONIC.NET
·Pacific Bell - SBC

reply to oldOscar
It is a common "phish". Ever since ISPs have locked down outbound port 25, the only way for spammers to get their message out from compromised computers is to still steal ISP accounts and send through the authorized SMTP servers. It is a very clever bit of "social engineering", and still hooks people. I first saw similar with an old IM service, which used numeric UserIDs, and the low numbered accounts (8 digits, and less) brought a premium; if they could be stolen, they could be sold. Now the "premium" is the ability to spam through legitimate SMTP serves from compromised systems, using stolen accounts. This can result in AT&T MTAs being blocked by other services (and AT&T blocking other services whose users have been "phished").

No service sends email requesting that sort of information. If they want you to manage your account, they just tell you to go to the account management site. And for that, it is best not to follow links in the email, but to have the account management site bookmarked, so you can get their direct from your browser.

And, if you would like an analysis of the routing to your Inbox, the suggestion by DrStrange See Profile to submit the full headers is valid. Just be sure to redact any personally identify information (your user name in your email address; IP address is not "personally identifying").
--
Norman
~Oh Lord, why have you come
~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum


Frohike
Premium
join:2000-07-23
Waxahachie, TX
kudos:4

reply to oldOscar

Re: Got an Email about old Snet "Account Validation"

Its not a valid AT&T email. WE will NEVER EVER EVER ask for your personal information, password etc in an email.

Friday, 01-Jun 22:31:48 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics