Search similar:

uniqs

wsanders
join:2002-09-18
Lafayette, CA

2 edits

wsanders

Uncapped ADSL2+ with SNR margins vs. Capped ADSL

Howdy, I've been looking through Cisco and other makers web sites for an explanation of how setting the SNR margin on the DSLAM end of a line works.

I have new Fusion service, and we have been able to wrest 6 Mbit reliable sync and 7.5 Mbit flaky sync from the crappy lines in my neighborhood and in my house. Currently, Sonic's capped me at 6 Mbit / ADSL1 which is on par with everyone else in my neighborhood, so I'm happy. The noise seems to be stray RF and impulse noise on the line. I am a ham radio operator, and the RFI in the neighborhood is terrible: arcing PG&E poles, plasma TV's and dimmers, you name it. I'm also about 9000 ft from CO, at the toe of the curve where ADSL2+ overs any real advantage of ADSL1.

I'm trying to figure if it's worth keeping the ZTE modem they sent me. I still have the venerable Speedstream 5100a PacBell sent me c.2004, and it and the ZTE perform identically with the 6 Mbit cap and ADSL1.

The question is: Is it possible to maybe wrest another 10% out of the line by uncapping the sync rate and increasing the "SNR margin", which seems to be a separate parameter that you can set on most DSLAMs? Is increasing the interleave (we do not do gaming) or enabling SRA something that might work? Is there a predictable effect on speed when bumping up SNR margin by 3 or 6 db?

Thanks for any discussions. Maybe we can find a new line profile for "guy with crappy line, lots of RFI, 2 mi from CO."
public
join:2002-01-19
Santa Clara, CA

public

said by wsanders: