MVM
join:2001-04-03
Reston, VA

jvmorris to J E F F4

MVM

to J E F F4

Re: Traffic Circles

Okay, the line drawing helps.

Now, I'm not a traffic engineer by any stretch of the imagination, but it seems to me that the cross-walks (on a 45 MPH roadway no less) are far too close to the roundabout itself. Of course, it's built now and I doubt they're going to be too enthusiastic about moving the crosswalks further back from the roundabout.

Still, are you saying that the speed limits are 45 MPH even during the beginning and end of school time intervals? As in the States, I would have timed signals (even with the traffic circle) bringing the speed down to 25 (30, max) during school time -- maybe a timed set of signals that only flash YELLOW during the beginning and end of school days. And there would be signs indicating it was a school crossing, possibly with a "STOP SHORT OF CROSSWALKS WHEN OCCUPIED" type of warning. This should not markedly break the flow of traffic most of the time. I have seen situations in which a duly authorized crossing guard (the old English lollipop ladies, I believe) could actually change the signal from yellow to RED if a large number of people were waiting to cross.