uniqs

UHF
All static, all day, Forever
MVM
join:2002-05-24

UHF

MVM

[Equipment] 900 point to point

Need to make a NLOS link over 10-11 miles. Guessing 900 is the only thing that's going to work, and Radio Mobile seems to confirm that.

My question is what equipment I need. Can I use two Trango M900-SU's, or will they not talk to each other? I really want something cheap.
prairiesky
join:2008-12-08
canada

prairiesky

do a link analysis on ligowave, pdf it and put it up, we'll take a look at it first...

UHF
MVM

UHF

MVM

Sorry for the quality of the PDF, but I need to keep my location off of this for the moment.

Inssomniak
The Glitch
Premium Member
join:2005-04-06
Cayuga, ON

Inssomniak to UHF

Premium Member

to UHF
Not gonna work dude...

UHF
MVM

UHF

MVM

said by Inssomniak:

Not gonna work dude...

Why not? Please explain. The RX threshold looks ok. Obviously, I'm new to wireless internet.

davidg
Good Bye My Friend
MVM
join:2002-06-15

davidg

MVM

your fresnel is not clear at all, unless you can get higher up on both ends it won't work. you are just asking for all sorts of multipath with those numbers. and you only leave 5db for fade, you want closer to 20 if you don't want it dropping every time a bird shits on the antenna.
LLigetfa
join:2006-05-15
Fort Frances, ON

LLigetfa to Inssomniak

to Inssomniak
said by Inssomniak:

Not gonna work dude...

+1

Also the EIRP is illegal.

UHF
MVM

UHF to davidg

MVM

to davidg
Crap.

I can get a little higher on both ends, but not much.

Looks like I'm probably out of luck. I was hoping to get internet at the remote location without a monthly fee, and satellite is the only option there
telegraph
join:2010-01-05
Greensboro, MD

telegraph

you need at least 20' to 30' on both side or somehow get space on that hill to use as a repeater
prairiesky
join:2008-12-08
canada

prairiesky to UHF

to UHF
also 900 NLOS *can* go through things like vegetation, not hills

UHF
MVM

UHF to telegraph

MVM

to telegraph