how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Red_Rhino

join:2006-03-21
Gainesville, GA

[TiVo] TiVo w/no subscription = DTA

Does anyone currently use a TiVo (w/CableCard), but not pay for their subscription with Comcast cable? I am curious to find out if you are able to see all the channels you pay for, include HD, or if you must pay a subscription to TiVo for it to work.

Mike Wolf

join:2009-05-24
Beachwood, NJ
kudos:4
You can't get a cablecard to put into the TiVo without having a subscription with Comcast. I have on the other hand had a cablecard that had expired its subscription to Comcast and I was only able to view non copy protected clear qam channels like ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, WB.

Red_Rhino

Gainesville, GA
I guess I should have clarified. I have a subscription with Comcast, I did not want to pay for a subscription to TiVo. I am trying to find out if a subscription to TiVo is really required to view channels on Comcast.

Ken
Premium,MVM
join:2003-06-16
Markle, IN
Pretty sure without a subscription to tivo, all you have is a paperweight. Now the Moxi on the other hand will pick up and record clear qam channels without a cable card.

dishrich

join:2006-05-12
Springfield, IL
reply to Red_Rhino
said by Red_Rhino:

I did not want to pay for a subscription to TiVo. I am trying to find out if a subscription to TiVo is really required to view channels on Comcast.

You need to go over here & ask that stuff:

www.tivocommunity.com

But my understanding is...while you probably can use an unsubbed Tivo to view live TV, (& possibly pause it) it will NOT record &/or do any DVR functions w/out a sub. I am not sure if you will get updated guide listings or not w/out a Tivo sub.
But basically, you will be getting a glorified HD cable converter w/out a Tivo sub.

GTFan

join:2004-12-03