Premium
join:2002-03-13
Munster, IN

[Retouch] How to properly develop a pic in lightroom

Click for full size
Canon EOS 60D
21mm 1/60th +0.3ev F3.5 ISO640

Aztec dance
Hello, last night I took some pics of a dance performance in a low lit church with my DSLR and now I'm trying to get the most insight on how to develop that picture into something better than the raw shot.

I'm posting this with some development already done to the picture, but I'm not satisfied. I believe the red is too bright, but at the same time, I don't want to loose the nice colors by trying to take too much red out of the picture. Anyway, I'm still very new to how to properly work on a digital pic and would like to have some insight and guidance on what can be done to turn this picture into a better shot with Lightroom.

SueS
Premium
join:2007-05-16
Macon, MO
kudos:2

1 edit

Did a little curves and sharpening. I did it in GIMP so I am not posting the example. I think it improved the photo and will post it, if you would like. By the way the red looks fine on my monitor.

Scummer
Premium
Munster, IN

could you please post it. I would like to compare and see how it has improved.

SueS
Premium
Macon, MO

1 recommendation

Click for full size
Canon EOS 60D

Here you go

fourboxers
Co-Lead Mod
join:2003-05-04
Toronto, ON

3 recommendations

reply to Scummer

Click for full size
Canon EOS 60D

You didn't mark it as edit y so hope it's okay to edit the shot. I don't have lightroom so a photoshop edit, photo filter cooling filter, then colour balance -10 on the red +30 on the blue to remove most of the yellow and get the skin tones looking better. No sharpening, no brightening, I like the lighting.

telebright

@tmodns.net
reply to Scummer

Click for full size
you have gotten lots of things right, it's ok the way it is. the focus and colors and composition and stop-motion are fine.