spc
Search similar:

uniqs
mastery7
join:2011-12-28

1 edit

mastery7

Quick question about modem swap out

Been using Brighhouse since 2002 when we moved into our home. I used to work at a different cable company (been out of that business for over 7 years now), and brought my own cable modem with me (Linksys wireless gateway). Anyways, it's been going through a lot of resets lately as the wireless has been going out. It's probably 10 years old, so due for a replacement.

Anyways, I've been paying BH for Internet for 10 years, using my own modem. Can I simply have them create a service call and send a tech out with one of their own modems that they can provide? I was thinking about buying a Motorola SB6120 or SB6121, but can't find if the D3 modem is usable in the Indianapolis market.

And, if I can save a few bucks, might as well as use BH's modem, as long as there aren't issues with the Airport Extreme that I have coming in the mail in a few days.

Thoughts? Thanks!
tim tim tim
join:2010-08-14
Lutz, FL

tim tim tim

Yeah, you can have one of ours installed for you and im pretty sure it would be free. The d3 modems have to be BHN owned to work on the network and there shouldnt be any issues with connecting your airport extreme up to it either!
mastery7

mastery7

Thanks tim tim tim. Been trying to do research, and if they loan the modem for free or real cheap, I figured it's better to go with what they offer for compatibility with the network. I'll hook up the network after they leave, no problem with that. Only time the Internet hasn't worked was due to power outages in the area; I'm impressed with their QoS in the area.
tim tim tim
Lutz, FL

tim tim tim

QOS for bhn in general is really good. Of course some people will say other wise but for the most part its a good network in my opinion. We work really hard and spend A LOT of money on keeping everything maintained to the point that you dont see issues.

The modems are free, we dont charge any fee to rent them.