 GlennHPremium join:2004-02-12 Louisville, KY | Emails to Insightbb Aren't Delivered Every email we're trying to send to Insight friends (just Insight, nowhere else) has been bouncing for the past 5 days. I'm getting this error code in the body of the notification:
> > > SMTP error from remote server in greeting: > > > host mx.insight.synacor.com[208.47.185.21]: > > > 421 4.7.0 Too much spam
Our ISP is AT&T (Bellsouth) and we use a 1&1.com-purchased domain name for all emails, so we're not using "bellsouth.net" addresses when sending outbound mail through Outlook, we're using multiple @blah-blah.com addresses - several of them.
When I switch to a Gmail account to send, it goes through.
1&1 customer support insist it's my ISP's issue: "the host mx.insight.synacor.com [208.47.185.21] is an IP address of Insight and was being blocked by your current ISP provider".
My question: is it an Insight issue, an AT&T issue, or a 1&1 issue? I don't understand, if it's an AT&T issue why the gmail-sent mail goes through?
I'm just confused... not to mention why this would have happened in the first place! |
|
|
|
 nightshade74Yet another genxerPremium join:2004-11-06 Prattville, AL Reviews:
·Charter
·voip.ms
| The receiving SMTP host (insight) is refusing your email.
Now what SMTP *SERVER* are you using to send email? Bellsouth? 1&1?
Either way I'd take a look at the server's IP with »www.anti-abuse.org/multi-rbl-check/
You really have two options.
1) Get insight to white list your specific address 2) Find out which blacklist 1&1 or AT&T is on and get them to try and get themselves off. |
|
 heels_fan1.20.09 The start of SocialismPremium join:2003-02-07 Columbia, TN kudos:1 | reply to GlennH good luck in getting AT&T to help. |
|
 GlennHPremium join:2004-02-12 Louisville, KY | The outgoing server in Outlook is: smtp.1and1.com
A lot of this is over my head.
I don't see why Insight would EVER pay attention to me, a non-customer (well, we do have their cable TV).
I ran the outgoing server and our domain name thru the link you provided and it was all green. But when I ran my IP through it shows as being blocked by "pbl.spamhaus.org" and "zen.spamhaus.org". WTF?
I guess I need to reboot the router and see what happens.
How does this happen??? |
|
 nightshade74Yet another genxerPremium join:2004-11-06 Prattville, AL Reviews:
·Charter
·voip.ms
| said by GlennH:I don't see why Insight would EVER pay attention to me, a non-customer (well, we do have their cable TV).
smtp.1and1.com resolves to two different addresses -- 74.208.5.17 & 74.208.5.2. Neither is on the multi RBL check.
I'd make an educated guess on who is blocking you. Try to switch to your "bellsouth" address and see if you get the same message.
If you do it's likely "at&t" being blocked. Otherwise it's likely "1&1".
The short version is insight is only going to listen to the postmaster. They're blocking emails for a reason.
Here is the simplified overview of what happens with blocking. Tons of RBL exist for different reasons. When some organization is spammy or not following the rules they can get added. Usually you wind up adding entire ranges. This has the effect of users complaining to their provider. This then pressures the provider to "sort it all out". At least that's the theory....Reality can be very different. |
|
 GlennHPremium join:2004-02-12 Louisville, KY | reply to GlennH My Bellsouth email works.
I've rebooted and tried again with 2 different IPs and neither new IP works when using 1&1.
So I guess it's 1&1.
They says it's Bellsouth but I just don't see how that's possible.
I've sent another email to their customer support.
Everything worked great until about a week ago. |
|
 | reply to GlennH Did you ever get a response on this? I have a 1&1 account, doing the exact same thing as you, and we are on InsightBB instead of AT&T. Sent an email to customer support today. |
|
 GlennHPremium join:2004-02-12 Louisville, KY | Yes, I have had several back and forth exchanges with 1&1. The other day they finally admitted that it was a mail server problem (they didn't say whose) whereas before that they were telling me it was my ISP (not).
Then 2 days ago they told me that the "overload" problem was fixed. I was able to send 1 test email and then the problem started all over again. I've sent another email but no response yet.
It seems pretty clear to me that Insight is blocking something from 1&1's mail servers. |
|
 GlennHPremium join:2004-02-12 Louisville, KY | reply to GlennH Here's the latest response: ---- It would appear that the recipient mx mx.insight.synacor.com is greylisting our outgoing mailservers. Since the error is very basic, 4XX may be a temporary issue and the mails are being delayed. However, you may want to contact the MX provider and have them investigate the returned mails to see if this is in error. ----
Another WTF?!
Guess I'll be switching away from 1&1 when renewal time comes. |
|
 | They finally fixed the issue. Ultimately I chock it up to the fact that 1&1 is a shared hosting solution. Someone else on our server (or server cluster) was spamming folks, or had his/her account hacked. As a result, Insight blacklisted all IPs on that server. I am heavily considering other hosting providers. My main gripe is the horrible customer service. Its almost as bad as Dell or Insight Broadband. "Let me tell you about triple play!" or "Hi, welcome to Dell technical support this is Chris, how may I help you today" --- all spoken in an Indian dialect. Yeah Bob/Billy/Chris/Matt/Mark, I'm not really buying the American name in an Indian dialect.
1&1 gets the job done but their site navigation is junk too. Best of luck brother! (Hatfieldmedia.com) |
|