republican-creole
site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
1126
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·Site FAQ ·Midwest Forum ·Chicago Line Monitors ·Chicago Special Events ·METRA Trains ·Navy Pier Events
AuthorAll Replies


sleuth
Premium
join:2001-08-30
West Des Moines, IA

Possible scam for jobseekers

»www.hudsonsearchexecutives.com

My sister and her friend recently went through this process. They found the job postings on indeed.com. Everything seemed legitimate enough at first. They sent in their resume, the supposed recruiter sent an application they had to fill out as a precursor, and then they had to take a small online test.

They went through a 3rd party website and actually had to purchase a test book. I would have to get this info again, as I don't remember the 3rd party company name, and what the test was for. However, I worked with a recruiter from Spherion once and had to take an pre-employment exam, and didn't find this totally unusual (I didn't have to pay tho). They pay, take the test, pass, and send in the application.

That's pretty much where it ends. The recruiter now turns into a shell. He keeps sending my sister and her friend emails about not receiving the application. Are you still interested in the position? Its pretty much looped at that. My sister has not yet spoken to this person on the phone. She requests a phone number, and keeps pestering the recruiter to tell him that the application is sent. The loop on the recruiters side continues.

Anyway, long story short I did a domain search on the linked website. I called the admin phone # linked to the registered site and the other side responds, "Alabama Railroad." Wtf?

I've called host gator, but the wait is 30mins or longer. So I hung up and I'll try again later.

Can we get this website taken down?

And for those jobseekers out there, they have listings for Chicago. So beware.


sleuth
Premium
join:2001-08-30
West Des Moines, IA

My sister cannot recall if she provided a SSN number at any point. However, she has now taken the necessary steps alarmed the 3 credit reporting companies.

Some world we live in these days, huh...



Dennis
Premium,Mod
join:2001-01-26
Algonquin, IL
kudos:5

reply to sleuth
hmm...sounds like a new variant of the credit score scam where they make you get one and then get the referral bucks for it.



Jon
Premium
join:2001-01-20
Lisle, IL

Yeah probably just affiliates getting commissions for selling that book. You can try reporting them to the FTC.



sleuth
Premium
join:2001-08-30
West Des Moines, IA

reply to sleuth
So I report this possible fraud site to the FTC?

Was just curious if I complain to the host, which will probably fall on deaf ears, or if there was a specific oversight group for this sort of stuff. FTC could possibly be it, but I wouldn't know for sure.



Jon
Premium
join:2001-01-20
Lisle, IL

FTC would be the one. They bust affiliates all the time for scamy crap.


Monday, 20-May 18:38:42 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 13.5 years online © 1999-2013 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics