spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

smc1962

@208.168.226.x

[Equipment] Vonage is "upgrading" my equipmt.; what ar

WRT54GPT2 (Linksys Wireless router) is being upgraded to VONAGE router VDV22. They tell me it should improve my service but I will lose the wireless capability. What should be the configuration if I want to continue to use the Linksys router along with the VDV22? What better/newer wireless router should I get instead? Will a new router allow me to configure other VOIP services to use along with VONAGE? Is it worth it trying to unlock the old Linksys router? Obviously I am new at this and need lots of help. Thanks to anyone with expertise, time, and patience.

NetFixer
Freedom is NOT Free
Premium
join:2004-06-24
The Boro
Reviews:
·Cingular Wireless
·Comcast Business..
·Vonage

Re: [Equipment] Vonage is "upgrading" my equipmt.; wha

If you want to avoid the expense of purchasing a new wireless router or wireless access point, you should be able to continue to use the WRT54GPT2 as only a wireless access point (and switch) by connecting its LAN interface to the new VDV22's LAN interface, and connecting the rest of your LAN equipment to the WRT54GPT2's LAN interface.

The main gotcha would be that I think the default LAN IP address used by both devices is the same (192.168.15.1), so you would need to change the LAN IP address on the WRT54GPT2 to something else such as 192.168.15.2 (they both will need to be on the same IP subnet). Another gotcha is that you will need to disable the DHCP server in the WRT54GPT2 because you can't have two DHCP servers running on the same network segment. The WAN (internet) interface of the WRT54GPT2 should not be connected to anything, and it should be set for the default setting to use DHCP (I would suggest doing a pushbutton factory default reset on the WRT54GPT2 before setting it up as a wireless access point).