All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs

Harry Drake
@cox.net

Harry Drake

Anon

[FL] 300' of run. Was qouted $1800. Can I do this run myself?

I have been attempting to get an line run to my house for over 6 months. There is a pole on my property that has the cable run to it. From that poll my electricity goes underground and runs roughly 300 feet to my house. Could I just buy 500 feet of RG 11 and bury it from the telephone pole to the back of my house where my meter is and then call cox to hook it up? Would I need more than just rg11? Thanks for your help and time

Harry drake
@bellsouth.net

Harry drake

Anon

Re: [FL] 300' of run. Was qouted $1800. Can I do this run myself

Just to claify, I have had a cox engineer come and make a bid and if I sign a five year contract it is only 1800. The engineer told me that the pole next to my well has cable run to it. He said that they would have to build it back to my house, but I am pretty sure he just meant run a line. I know they have to obtain easements and other hassles, so it takes awhile and cox charges you pretty hard for it. I have two hands and a shovel, not to mention tons of digging experince, so I figured I could dig it in myself and just buy 1000' of comscope rg11 direct burial off eBay. I basically want to know if this plan does the same thing cox is going to do. Are they just going to come out and run a ditch witch down my property, put some rg11 in and cover it up and hand me a 1800 dollar bill?
chuckkk
join:2001-11-10
Warner Robins, GA

chuckkk

With that long a run, I believe you will also need a two way amplifier.
With that in mind, I see no reason why you could not run underground cable to the pole on your property. You might ask Cox what cable type they are planning on running. There are lower loss (and more expensive types than RG 11)
In some areas this would be a candidate for a fiber drop.
scross
join:2002-09-13
USA

scross to Harry Drake

to Harry Drake