uniqs

Three88bu
Premium Member
join:2004-08-14
Huntley, IL

Three88bu

Premium Member

Possible side work...advice?

I have been approached by an acquaintance to do a fairly complex website for him and a friend on the side.

This is the second time i would be doing this, the first was for family.

Just curious if anyone has some good advice. Things I know I need to be thorough with is:

Properly setting expectations on deliver-ables.
Documenting requirements properly.
Communication in general.

Please share your rate if you dont mind doing so. I am no graphic designer so that is definitely not my strong suit. I may recommend to them to farm that part of it out to someone a bit more qualified. I can handle every other aspect of the site without issue.

Some details of the site:

Developed in ASP.NET 4.0 / SQL Server 2008
Likely fairly heavy use of AJAX/JQuery
Will integrate with Google maps and likely other related map data services. (Yelp, Google Places possibly?, etc)
User login capability.
NO eccommerce

Thanks.

cdru
Go Colts
MVM
join:2003-05-14
Fort Wayne, IN

cdru

MVM

1. Read this so you have a clue going into #2
2. Get a lawyer for the work contract and to cover your ass.
3. Document EVERYTHING. If you have a simple contract form, document exactly what fields are included, any conditional logic, where it gets sent, etc.
4. Your project scope will creep. When it does, change orders are required. Repeat #3.
5. Prepare to make enemies.

I was in almost the same shoes as you were last summer. If it wasn't for me insisting a signed contract before any real work began, I would have been in a lot of hurt. The money never really was there, the verbally agreed rate would not have been honored, the scope would have wildly swung all over the place.