how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

dakeshon

join:2010-02-09
Mckeesport, PA

Want to trade in boxes for newer boxes?

Hello, I currently have 5 set top boxes. 4 of them are Comcast DCT 2000 boxes which I would like to trade in for newer ones to I can use Universal ID and the Xfinity App. the 5th box is our HD boxes which I would like to trade in for a HD-DVR (which in included in our package). Would their be a cost to trade?

PS. One of the standard box has water damage, is this covered by insurance?

Thanks.

neufuse

join:2006-12-06
James Creek, PA
they dont charge you to trade boxes, just take them to the local comcast office and they do trades there usually

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4
reply to dakeshon
you pay for dvr service yet dont have one?
--
I'm better than you!

Russ6

join:2011-03-17
Houston, TX
kudos:1
reply to dakeshon
Comcast doesn't charge for trading in boxes, but they will charge more for HD DVRs than they do for SD STBs.

There could be a fee for the water damaged STB.

dakeshon

join:2010-02-09
Mckeesport, PA
reply to dakeshon
@gar187er, when ordered we got the HD primer plan and my mom only ordered the HD box. Our plan does include HD DVR with fees and rental charges.

@Russ, if it isn't covered do you know how much it would cost?

Thanks.

ctgreybeard
Old dogs can learn new tricks
Premium
join:2001-11-13
Bethel, CT
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to dakeshon
In my experience with the Danbury, CT Comcast office they don't charge or question anything. I would hope that would apply in your area too. I would bundle them up, maybe one at a time, and trade them in at your local office.