tomkb
Premium Member
join:2000-11-15
Tampa, FL

tomkb

Premium Member

Buying verizon cable boxes

Hi all,

I've just moved to Tampa and I'm new to Verizon cable and FIOS.

We currently live in an apartment and are only running 2 TV's because of the apartment size. One TV has a Verizon HD box and the other TV just has the regular non-HD box.

I went on ebay and noticed there are several boxes available for sale that match my current cable box, QIP-2500-3

Our new home will have several more TV's with all the additional rooms. Does anyone know if I can just buy the boxes, or for that matter, can I just plug the cable lines directly into the TV's?

I don't want to have to spend $10/month for each additional cable box.
kes601
join:2007-04-14
Virginia Beach, VA

kes601

Won't work. Vz has to activate the boxes.

You can get local channels and maybe still the music choice channels plugging straight into the tv if it has the proper type of tuner (having brain fart now, can't remember name).

Thinkdiff
MVM,
join:2001-08-07
Bronx, NY

Thinkdiff

MVM,

said by kes601:

if it has the proper type of tuner (having brain fart now, can't remember name).

QAM Tuner (or Digital Cable Tuner).
kes601
Virginia Beach, VA

kes601

Ok, that is what I had down and then second guessed myself.....oh well.
matthewh16
join:2010-05-21
Culver City, CA

matthewh16 to tomkb

to tomkb
Those boxes on ebay are basically stolen property. And even if you paid the 200+ for them, as soon as you activated them with VZ, they'd bill you for the box monthly anyway.
kes601
Virginia Beach, VA

kes601

said by matthewh16:

Those boxes on ebay are basically stolen property. And even if you paid the 200+ for them, as soon as you activated them with VZ, they'd bill you for the box monthly anyway.

Vz would never activate them anyway.

WK2
Premium Member
join:2006-12-28
united state

WK2 to tomkb

Premium Member

to tomkb
Do they fine you if you try to activate these boxes? I thought I heard that they did