spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

nine9s2

join:2005-02-09
Richmond, TX

Is Comcast's ip telephone service reliable?

I am thinking of getting Comcast triple play. How reliable is their IP telephone service? I have an elderly person, in my home, who needs emergency care every now and then, so phone reliability is very important to me.

Is it rock solid, or is it down or does it have problem occasionally?

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4
if you need a phone for medical purposes, keep a POTS line..../thread
--
I'm better than you!

CajunTek
Insane Cajun
Premium,MVM
join:2003-08-08
Arlington, TX
said by gar187er:

if you need a phone for medical purposes, keep a POTS line..../thread

Not suggesting the OP get Comcast's phone service, but I would never reccomend a POTS line to anyone.
--
da Cajun Darn I hate Malware

JohnInSJ
Premium
join:2003-09-22
Aptos, CA
reply to nine9s2
said by nine9s2:

I am thinking of getting Comcast triple play. How reliable is their IP telephone service? I have an elderly person, in my home, who needs emergency care every now and then, so phone reliability is very important to me.

Is it rock solid, or is it down or does it have problem occasionally?

If you need to be sure to be able to make calls, the best suggestion is TWO methods - wired or viop as one, and cell as backup.

Comcast VIOP is reliable. Maybe not quite POTS. You could get voip + lifeline POTS in the elderly person's name.
--
My place : »www.schettino.us

NetFixer
Freedom is NOT Free
Premium
join:2004-06-24
The Boro
Reviews:
·Cingular Wireless
·Comcast Business..
·Vonage
said by JohnInSJ:

Comcast VIOP is reliable. Maybe not quite POTS...

That really depends on the area in which you live, and the identity of the ILEC.