spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

lmacmil

join:2001-01-26
South Bend, IN

[DVR] What determines how fast the guide is restored?

I have a Moto DCT-3416. It takes well over 24 hours for the guide contents to be fully restored after a power shut down. I was in Fla recently and the condo had a Cisco RCN-???. I had to shut it off when it hung and I'm sure the guide was fully restored in only 4 or 5 hours. Is it the DVR or something local that determines how fast the guide gets re-populated? Just curious.

As an aside, the Cisco box seemed to have way more capacity than my 160MB Moto.

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4
processor speed, memory of the box......signal quality.....how slammed the DNCS...lots of factors.....
--
I'm better than you!

Russ6

join:2011-03-17
Houston, TX
kudos:1
reply to lmacmil
said by lmacmil:

I have a Moto DCT-3416. It takes well over 24 hours for the guide contents to be fully restored after a power shut down. I was in Fla recently and the condo had a Cisco RCN-???. I had to shut it off when it hung and I'm sure the guide was fully restored in only 4 or 5 hours. Is it the DVR or something local that determines how fast the guide gets re-populated? Just curious.

As an aside, the Cisco box seemed to have way more capacity than my 160MB Moto.

Click the following link for how the guide data is repopulated:

»Re: [STB] Cisco thinking of getting out of the set-top box busin
--
SA 8300 HD DVRs with Patched S25 Guide
Links:
'S25 Guide Blog' 'Schedule' 'Info' 'Patch Thread'

andyross
Premium,MVM
join:2003-05-04
Schaumburg, IL
reply to lmacmil