All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
piperj
join:2006-01-16
El Dorado Hills, CA

piperj

Configuring router (ASUS RTN66U) behind router (2Wire 1701)

Since I can't get the 2Wire 1701 into a stable bridge mode (see "1701 bridge mode fail" thread below) I want to try plugging the ASUS into the 2Wire in normal mode and seeing if I can get the ASUS into a client bridge mode. (Background - I am running a Linksys WRT54GL with DDWRT in client bridge mode to connect my DAW / VSTi computers with IPMIDI (MIDI over IP) through the WRT54GL which is wireless bridged back to the 2Wire 1701 for internet access.)

Even though I'm not a complete noob to routing puzzles I have these questions:

1) The ASUS ISP connection mode can be set to Dynamic IP, PPPoE, PPTP, L2TP or Static IP. Does this setting only apply to signals coming in through the WAN port? Should I plug the cable from the 2Wire into the ASUS WAN port or regular LAN port? If the WAN port, how should the ISP connection mode be set?

2) I have read that in router behind router setups each should be on a different subnet. The computers on my bridged Linksys have static IPs with default gateway and DNS pointing back to the 2Wire all on the same subnet. Is this only working because DDWRT offers a specific client bridge mode that the ASUS probably does not have?

3) Since the ASUS has an SPI firewall, port forwarding and NAT, would the 2wire DMZplus mode feeding the ASUS router have any serious downside and be more likely to succeed than trying the router behind router configuration?

wayjac
MVM
join:2001-12-22
Indy

wayjac

MVM

said by piperj:

I want to try plugging the ASUS into the 2Wire in normal mode and seeing if I can get the ASUS into a client bridge mode

There are options that should work for you
said by piperj: