Search similar:

uniqs

JJ Johnson
Premium Member
join:2001-08-25
Fort Collins, CO

JJ Johnson

Premium Member

[CDV] Is Comcast Digital Voice cost effective?

In comparison to a POTS line, have you found that CDV is cost effective? I'm talking about non-promotional pricing following the startup deals that Comcast offers.

Have to factor in the additional cost of an eMTA at $7/month instead of just being able to buy a cable modem for $50-$85.

gar187er
I DID this for a living
join:2006-06-24
Seattle, WA

gar187er

do you HSI and rent a modem?

if so you can use your emta as your HSI modem, therefore negating your modem fee...

also the EMTAs cost much more then 50-85.....they cost $150...

JJ Johnson
Premium Member
Fort Collins, CO

JJ Johnson

Premium Member

I'm not sure I follow. Yes, with HSI. I'm saying that you'll be renting an eMTA for $7/month for CDV service instead simply buying a cable modem for $50-$85. The difference in cost over, say, a three year period will average out to about $5/month that I say you need to add onto the cost of CDV when comparing the two.

gar187er
I DID this for a living
Seattle, WA

gar187er

a modem for phone service is called an EMTA....it costs $150 from best buy stores (the only one you can use).....

if you have HSI and lease a modem for that, you can get rid of that and use an EMTA to do both.....either rented, or purchased....
ats
join:2008-11-14
Vallejo, CA

ats to JJ Johnson

to JJ Johnson
what he probably meant was you can use an emta for both hsi and cdv so if you're in one of those areas where buying your own emta is allowed (ONLY from bestbuy),you might consider that option.

JJ Johnson
Premium Member
Fort Collins, CO

JJ Johnson

Premium Member

Jeezus... buy the eMTA for $150 then.

Is CDV cheaper or more expensive than your local POTS service?

JigglyWiggly
join:2009-07-12
Pleasanton, CA

JigglyWiggly

avoid comcast voice like the plague, it goes out as often as your internet goes out which is... more than rare