Got Mouse?
MVM
join:2002-01-20
Bristol, CT

PeteC2

MVM

Re: New to Comcast, any suggestions?

I do have another (sorry) question:

Comcast sent me both the VOIP modem, a RCA DHG535-2 model, which is Docsis 2.0, as well as a Cisco Docsis 3.0 (no VOIP) modem.

Upon calling Comcast and asking why, they told me that in case I went to a higher speed package, I could hook up the Cisco modem via splitter, and use the RCA for phone and the Cisco for internet. I was assured that I was not going to pay rent on 2 modems, and suggested that I hold on to the Cisco modem whether or not I used it.

This sounds a bit peculiar to me...not sure if this was correct information...does anybody here know?

If this is do-able, is there any reason that I would want/need to do so at my present speed? I doubt that the "performance" tier would particularly benefit from Docsis 3.0, but I am a total noob when it comes to cable internet, as my whole experience with broadband for the last 10+ years has been dsl only.

I would sure appreciate any observations/comments on this!
medbuyer
join:2003-11-20
Memphis, TN

medbuyer

said by PeteC2:

I do have another (sorry) question:

Comcast sent me both the VOIP modem, a RCA DHG535-2 model, which is Docsis 2.0, as well as a Cisco Docsis 3.0 (no VOIP) modem.

Upon calling Comcast and asking why, they told me that in case I went to a higher speed package, I could hook up the Cisco modem via splitter, and use the RCA for phone and the Cisco for internet. I was assured that I was not going to pay rent on 2 modems, and suggested that I hold on to the Cisco modem whether or not I used it.

This sounds a bit peculiar to me...not sure if this was correct information...does anybody here know?