uniqs

DigitalXeron
There is a lack of sanity
join:2003-12-17
Hamilton, ON

DigitalXeron

A bit of a rant: cPanel

Hi all, this may come off as bit of a rant, but I feel it needs to be aired:

I have been working with cPanel for the past several years and have come to many conclusions that have me questioning why it's such a "Standard" in the webhosting community, well, I know the answer ("it makes administration easy"), but my point stands.

For instance, cPanel is designed so it almost insists on any server it is installed on that all administration has to go through cPanel/WHM. This means that if you have a sysadmin/tech who prefers to do things by the shell, or have a script that you're running on multiple servers to deploy a change, this frustrates matters. cPanel basically requires your operation to revolve around it instead of it revolving around your operation. This is arrogance on cPanel's part.

In the like to the above, cPanel seems to ignore the system configuration files that Linux itself utilizes and reads and insists on utilizing its own separate configuration files. This results in situations where the two sets of config files become mismatched and cPanel proceeds to make no effort to read system config unless it is absolutely required to (though it has no qualms about overwriting config, or even outright trashing config options enabled for services for options not available via cPanel).

Another is backups, the default cPanel backup script makes no effort to determine if backups are able to be completed to the destination before attempting. So if you're filling up an HDD in the process, the process fails silently and anything else depending on the HDD being backed up to starts thrashing/crashing/etc.

There's a few other items, but suffice it to say, there's a lot of problems that cPanel (The company) doesn't seem interested to fix as it would require a massive overhaul of the codebasea.