Premium
join:2004-11-29
Corpus Christi, TX
kudos:6

1 recommendation

reply to neonturbo

Re: [Rant] $&!%* Re-Captcha!

said by neonturbo:

I get the point of the Captcha, but they don't have to swirl it so much that it looks like something from a 70's acid trip.

As a site administrator myself and a forum admin on a website I help out I can tell you that helps prevent hundreds upon hundreds of spam bots from signing up every month. It's something I have to deal with on daily basis and its not fun. It's something I have been going very easy on with my site. I don't have it set that strict so some do get through the captcha.

MemphisPCGuy
Taking Care Business
Premium
join:2004-05-09
Memphis, TN
reply to sivran
The second word is actually a word scanned from a book that was not recognized by the OCR software. If you get the actual captcha word right they assume the word scan is right and update the online book scan word. That is the "Re" in Re-Captcha, using it for more than just security validation.

I can tell you that without captcha the site would get spammed into oblivion as I have had to resort to it on many of my websites as well just to slow down the stem of spambots etc.

Hopefully there will be a better way someday.
--
Onsite Computer Support in Memphis
»www.memphispcguy.com

Subaru
1-3-2-4
Premium
join:2001-05-31
Greenwich, CT
kudos:1
reply to jester121
What's wrong with using those things like what's 4+2=? type questions?

dvd536
as Mr. Pink as they come
Premium
join:2001-04-27
Phoenix, AZ
kudos:4
said by Subaru:

What's wrong with using those things like what's 4+2=? type questions?

bots can be coded to solve math stuff.

Dude111
An Awesome Dude
Premium
join:2003-08-04
USA
kudos:13
reply to jester121

We all know who to blame for these captchas: FUCKA SPAMMERS

thedragonmas

join:2007-12-28
Albany, GA
reply to CptGemini

Re: [Rant] $&!%* Re-Captcha!

said by CptGemini:

said by neonturbo: