dslreports logo

All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
midzata
join:2012-04-02

midzata

Advance needed concerning radio link (bridge)

hi my name is mile,

i'm doing a research for my masters and seeing I have no experience in surveillance cameras and radio links, I need an advice on what kind of radio link to use for my project.

NOTE: i didn't just opened this thread blindly, as first I took a look around the web manufacturers web site, the forum and plenty other sites as well. however when a know little about a certain topic, i always ask help from people who are more competent than me and whose knowledge in this 'unknown area' is greater than mine.

USE CASE:
-i am using a PTZ IP camera that will be located on a mountain top (location A) and it's signal needs to be transmitted to a monitoring center (location B) where it will be viewed on a computer terminal. little explanation for those that are not familiar;
-IP means that the signal from the camera will travel through a computer network
-PTZ means that the camera can be remotely controlled from the computer terminal
-i plan to use Axis P5522-E camera, please google as i'm not allowed to post links

ISSUE:
-the camera will be connected to AP or router, which doesn't have the necessary range, because the distance between A and B is ~20 km (~13 miles)
-here i should mention that the communication should be in two directions, the first carrying the video signal from A to B, and the second carrying the movement controls for the camera moving from B to A

SOLUTION:
-the radio link should have an affordable price >> around 150$
-i tend to keep the price low as much as possible (duh...), but it is not always my priority. so if i get something i think is a nice feature for some extra money, i'll probably pay. but i'm always looking for a deal that will get me the best value for the money i'll pay