gar187er
I DID this for a living
join:2006-06-24
Seattle, WA

gar187er to Jonasjlp

to Jonasjlp

Re: [Connectivity] Help: We accidentally cut our comcast HCI lin

said by Jonasjlp:

HA!!!! like comcast actually comes out to mark their buried loops. it's cheaper for them to hope you don't hit it and to send a tech out in the off chance you do than to hire a third party locator to come out and mark their cable.

811 sends the ticket out to whomever does the locates in the area...most systems use a third party like utiliquest....sometimes they handle a couple utilities so they would mark out cable/phone, or power/water, etc....
Jonasjlp
join:2011-06-22
Downingtown, PA

Jonasjlp

trust me, Comcast does not believe in locates. They showed up one day to do a buried drop with a road bore at my house. Never called in a locate. They kicked the line in from the street almost all the way up to my house about 3 inches deep. When they were almost done, I called the township and the codes inspector came out, busted them for not having a locate and made them rip out the line because it wasn't deep enough.
rody_44
Premium Member
join:2004-02-20
Quakertown, PA

rody_44

Premium Member

I worked in downingtown, They dont have a code for depth. Your contractor got busted for not having a road crossing permit and a locate.
rody_44

3 edits

rody_44 to Jonasjlp

Premium Member

to Jonasjlp