Monster Rain
Premium Member
join:2009-01-17

C_Chipperson to gar187er

Premium Member

to gar187er

Re: [Speed] Got my HSI rate increase notice, how slow is Economy

said by gar187er:

16% increase in a year, but before that the price NEVER increased....

I agree with gar, the price increase shouldn't have happened, because it never happened before.

gar187er
I DID this for a living
join:2006-06-24
Seattle, WA

1 recommendation

gar187er

said by C_Chipperson:

said by gar187er:

I agree with gar, the price increase shouldn't have happened, because it never happened before.

then you dont really agree with me....point was that for 10-15 years it never increased....while speeds got faster, new equipment had to bought (modems, fiber tx/rx, CMTS upgrades), yet [rices never changed....now price gets bumped $7.00 in a year....cmts cards aint cheap ($25,000+)....someone has to help foot the bill...comcast is a for profit company, and you cant make a buck if you keep spending more then you bring in....
ddrant
join:2010-03-02
Womelsdorf, PA

ddrant

I highly doubt Comcast is spending more than they take in..... they know they have my area hostage (Verizon DSL service stops 3 miles south of my location). There are no realistic alternative options for high speed internet.

And it's not like I've asked for or wanted the speed upgrades, especially with the 250GB soft ceiling. If I had wanted more speed, I would have rather had the option to pay more for the speed. It's as bad as the cell companies, "hey we've upgraded our service so you can hit your cap in half the time now!" It's one of the main reasons I have Sprint as my cell provider because unlimited data is there when I need it, even though my regular usage isn't that much, I have only really used around 300mb of data 2 weeks into my month and it's cheaper to boot (and it meets my needs coverage wise).